Menu
andrew_watson2
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

high latency and total packet loss vm bus dual wan

Hello,

I am an ex virgin engineer now working in the i.t and security sector.

I have a client who has two hub1's to make a total connection downstream of 100mb/s.

I am running a client called pfsense to split the two wan connections across the whole site.

every now and then i will receive an email from the pfsense server stating that one of the connections has dropped.

when i log into the server remotely using the connection that is still alive i can see the dropped connection had high latency and a 100% loss.

Rebooting the super hub in question often resolves this as i can still get onto the remote admin page.

I am running the same setup at home with exact the same equipment with no problems.

is there a way without cutting the ac power to schedule an auto restart say midnight for the super hubs?

I worked on the network when working with virgin so didn't get into the modem side of things.

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: high latency and total packet loss vm bus dual wan

HUB1 has a known issue where latency builds up over time, requiring a reboot to clear.

AFAIK there is no option to schedule a reboot. Id be replacing them if I were you. Later HUBs do not exhibit the same behavior.

0 Kudos
andrew_watson2
Joining in
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Thanks,

I dont remember having this issue with my hub1's
i dont think hub2 is compatible with business accounts.

Andrew

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Obviously I only have experience of them in a residential setting. I had a timed switch that switched it off for 10 minutes late at night. Wouldn't risk it in a business environment though, you are introducing another point of failure..

Theres a Hitron unit for businesses, a couple of the people on here have them on test, maybe they could give you some more info.