Menu
Reply
  • 115
  • 11
  • 24
sku11meister
Up to speed
480 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Wireless issues

Hi, please help.. im at the end of this constant issues with the wireless issues and this superhub!

constant issues where we have 80% at worst signal on 2.4GHz and no traffic.. page cannot be displayed issues on our phones.. ipads and laptops?

i have tried changing the channels and setting them after using a wifi analizer to use an empty channel, i have even installed a wifi repeater upstairs with the same ssid and password to try to help with the problems upstairs, by doing this it increased the signal levels from one bar to full.. but still the same problems of no traffic as if we are not connected to the wifi?

 

im starting to think its a problem with my router!

it happens on the 5GHz as well.. to the point where we dont use it as its far too short on range and useless!

our baby monitor camera keeps freezing during the night, which is no good! we have no choice but to run it on our 2.4GHz and even though the signal is 95% it still freezes??

we dont have LED lighting, or any other networks that are really close to us, please can some one tell me what i can do as its driving me nuts!

(thanks in advance for your time and help)

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
930 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wireless issues

Have you got any wired devices and do they have issues too or is it just wireless devices that have problems?  If wired devices were also showing similar symptoms then it could indicate a line fault rather than a wireless issue.

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless you have a Hub 3 and this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take 7-10 days) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
868 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wireless issues

The WAN IP in the network log is personal info and that is what the mods removed.  I did post in big bold letters about removing the WAN IP in my response, but I guess you missed that bit Smiley Happy

I can't see anything obviously wrong in the hub stats you have posted to suggest a line fault.

IMHO Wifi extenders/repeaters are snake oil and I don't use them or recommend them.  At best they will half your speed due to the half duplex way they work, because they can't send data in both directions simultaneously.  Also in order to work you have to find a location that is close enough to the hub to get a good signal from it, but also close enough to the room you want the better signal in.  A tricky task at best and an impossible one at worst.

One option might be powerline adapters.  These use the electrical wiring in your house to create a wired network without the need for long cables.  They are rarely as fast as the manufacturer's claim but are a lot more stable and less prone to interference than wireless.  Some provide just wired connections and others come with additional wireless built in to allow you to create a wireless access point in parts of the house where the wireless signal is poor.   Some powerline adapter reviews here:
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/test-centre/network-wifi/20-best-powerline-adapters-2016-uk-3490638/

Another option to improve your wireless is with a third party router.  It is what I and many other customers do and it can make a huge difference.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

 


All Replies
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
931 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wireless issues

Have you got any wired devices and do they have issues too or is it just wireless devices that have problems?  If wired devices were also showing similar symptoms then it could indicate a line fault rather than a wireless issue.

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless you have a Hub 3 and this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take 7-10 days) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

  • 115
  • 11
  • 24
sku11meister
Up to speed
465 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless issues

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz) 235000000 219000000 227000000 243000000 251000000 259000000 267000000 275000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked
Channel ID 9 7 8 10 11 12 13 14
Modulation 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV) 3.29 3.69 3.18 2.71 2.67 2.89 2.37 2.29
RxMER (dB) 38.26 38.26 38.26 37.94 38.61 38.61 38.26 38.26
Pre RS Errors
21346 21159 15580 27176 21119 24398 34159 42104
Post RS Errors
348 308 290 375 383 323 317 287

 

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type N/A N/A 2.0 2.0
Channel ID N/A N/A 5 6
Frequency (Hz) N/A N/A 31000000 24400000
Ranging Status Other Other Success Success
Modulation N/A N/A 64QAM 64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) N/A N/A 5120000 5120000
Mini-Slot Size N/A N/A 4 4
Power Level (dBmV) N/A N/A 39.50 38.00
T1 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T2 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T3 Timeouts 0 0 1 0
T4 Timeouts 0 0 0 0

 

First Time Last Time Priority Error Number Description
16/02/2017 20:03:20 GMT 16/02/2017 20:03:20 GMT Warning (5) 66050310 Auth Success - Web login successful.
16/02/2017 17:48:59 GMT 16/02/2017 17:48:59 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
16/02/2017 09:56:29 GMT 16/02/2017 09:56:29 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
16/02/2017 01:43:27 GMT 16/02/2017 01:43:27 GMT Error (4) 68000411 TOD error 4599 msec
15/02/2017 18:11:26 GMT 15/02/2017 18:11:26 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
15/02/2017 01:12:16 GMT 15/02/2017 01:12:16 GMT Error (4) 68000411 TOD error 4912 msec
14/02/2017 17:25:32 GMT 14/02/2017 17:25:32 GMT Warning (5) 66050310 Auth Success - Web login successful.
14/02/2017 15:22:50 GMT 14/02/2017 15:22:50 GMT Warning (5) 66050310 Auth Success - Web login successful.
14/02/2017 15:22:40 GMT 14/02/2017 15:22:40 GMT Warning (5) 66050310 Auth Success - Web login successful.
11/02/2017 23:22:00 GMT 11/02/2017 23:22:00 GMT Error (4) 68000411 TOD error 4419 msec
11/02/2017 17:09:56 GMT 11/02/2017 17:09:56 GMT Warning (5) 66050310 Auth Success - Web login successful.
11/02/2017 16:38:49 GMT 11/02/2017 16:38:49 GMT Warning (5) 66050310 Auth Success - Web login successful.
11/02/2017 02:22:58 GMT 11/02/2017 02:22:58 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
10/02/2017 22:42:12 GMT 10/02/2017 22:42:12 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - ********
10/02/2017 22:41:11 GMT 10/02/2017 22:41:11 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
09/02/2017 23:14:43 GMT 09/02/2017 23:14:43 GMT Error (4) 68000411 TOD error 4976 msec
08/02/2017 19:17:21 GMT 08/02/2017 19:17:21 GMT Warning (5) 66050310 Auth Success - Web login successful.
07/02/2017 22:27:59 GMT 07/02/2017 22:27:59 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - *********
07/02/2017 22:27:00 GMT 07/02/2017 22:27:00 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established

 

 

[MOD EDIT: Personal and private information has been removed from this post. Please do not post personal or private information in your public posts. Please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 115
  • 11
  • 24
sku11meister
Up to speed
460 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless issues

occasionally i have problems with wired devices, but no where near as much as wireless.. wireless is daily, and several times.. wired seems ok 80% of the time but our roku which is hard wirred does lose connection so nowtv occasionally.. i always do a speed test and the worst i have had out of my 200mbps is about 76mbps, that was on a saturday and i was streaming sky sports through now tv ..
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 115
  • 11
  • 24
sku11meister
Up to speed
455 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless issues

sorry i didnt realise any of that was personal info?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
869 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wireless issues

The WAN IP in the network log is personal info and that is what the mods removed.  I did post in big bold letters about removing the WAN IP in my response, but I guess you missed that bit Smiley Happy

I can't see anything obviously wrong in the hub stats you have posted to suggest a line fault.

IMHO Wifi extenders/repeaters are snake oil and I don't use them or recommend them.  At best they will half your speed due to the half duplex way they work, because they can't send data in both directions simultaneously.  Also in order to work you have to find a location that is close enough to the hub to get a good signal from it, but also close enough to the room you want the better signal in.  A tricky task at best and an impossible one at worst.

One option might be powerline adapters.  These use the electrical wiring in your house to create a wired network without the need for long cables.  They are rarely as fast as the manufacturer's claim but are a lot more stable and less prone to interference than wireless.  Some provide just wired connections and others come with additional wireless built in to allow you to create a wireless access point in parts of the house where the wireless signal is poor.   Some powerline adapter reviews here:
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/test-centre/network-wifi/20-best-powerline-adapters-2016-uk-3490638/

Another option to improve your wireless is with a third party router.  It is what I and many other customers do and it can make a huge difference.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

 

  • 115
  • 11
  • 24
sku11meister
Up to speed
271 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless issues

hi, thanks for the reply,

i already use powerline adapters, i have 3 sets running seperatly from eachother, they are either on different ringmains or just dont work together so am running two sets on the same ring main and another on a seperate ring main./

one pla is running a wifi hotspot with teh same ssid and channel and password as the vm hub, the other two are connected to switches that run roku, tv, ps4 and now tv box, and a baby cam.

 

there are no issues with any of this except occasionally when it all loses traffic.. (connected but no internet) as if some one pulled the coax out of the router for a few seconds.

seems to be only the wireless that has this issue regularly when wired devices from the vm hub or the pla's are working fine?!

2.4 is set on channel 3.. and same on the hotspot wifi repeater upstairs thats on a pla..

 

i just dont get whats wiping out my wireless signal all the time, its driving me nuts

0 Kudos
Reply