Menu
chrissiediamond
Tuning in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Superhub modem mode and ports issue

Hi

I am new to Virgin media and have very little tech knowledge re networking.  However, I have set my superhub 3 to modem mode and have created a network using my Apple Time capsule which is extended using an airport extreme and 2 x airport expresses.  The network is working fine but I noticed that i cannot use the TV anywhere app as a remote as it says that i am not connected to my TiVo Box on the home network.  This led me to test the network settings on the box and it said that the port configuration test had failed as I need to open TCP Ports 80 and 7288.  Can somebody tell me what this means and how i do it?  Please explain as simply as possible Smiley Frustrated

Any help will be much appreciated - I would also like to understand if the issues are connected?

0 Kudos

Helpful Answers
Adduxi
Knows their stuff
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Superhub modem mode and ports issue

Just to confirm when the Hub 3 is in Modem Mode, the only port working will be the one nearest to the incoming cable.

So I'm assuming this is the one you have connected to your Apple Router. If so, the cable from the TiVo will have to be connected to this Apple Router as well.

From your post header, it seems as if you are talking about ports on the Hub 3 ?  When the Hub is in Modem Mode, there is no configuration available on the Hub, so everything you need to do would be on the Apple Router.

However, I've no idea about Apple routers, so can't help with your port issues, but just thought I would clear up any points about the Hub 3 and Modem Mode.

Good Luck !

Superuser
Superuser
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

the tivo needs to be connected to your network by a network cable to use the remote control on tv anywhere. this will connect from the tivo to your apple router
0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator