Menu
Reply
  • 39
  • 0
  • 0
philangst
Tuning in
188 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

My superbub3 has been randomly re-booting itself several times a day (3-5) for about a week.Slightly embarrassing for me when I am trying to work from home and  in the middle of a presentation !

I am in area 22 (Leeds 17), downstream data / network log below and hope somebody can help

Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000-5.737.6256 qam9
2322750000-5.937.3256 qam12
3314750000-5.937.6256 qam11
4306750000-637.6256 qam10
5290750000-5.937.3256 qam8
6282750000-5.737.6256 qam7
7274750000-5.737.6256 qam6
8266750000-5.937.6256 qam5
9258750000-737.3256 qam4
10250750000-7.237.6256 qam3
11242750000-737.3256 qam2
12234750000-6.937.6256 qam1

 

Network Log Date And Time Error Number Event Description

2017-03-01 21:02:53.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-01 21:51:26.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 10:56:53.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:03:43.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:04:59.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:20:56.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:27:55.0082000300Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:27:55.0082000600Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:28:15.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:28:55.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:30:11.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:30:37.0082000700Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:30:37.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:31:36.0082000700Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:31:36.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:31:57.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:31:57.0084020300MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 11:32:11.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 23:00:32.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-02 23:05:08.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
181 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

Your downstream power levels are two low on a few channels, the upstream power levels would have been useful.

The logs are showing quite a few T3 errors and some T4 errors indicating the connection dropping between the hub and VM servers.

You could give the coax cable between the hub and the cable entry point for obvious signs of damage and all connectors are hand tight.

You will need to contact VM for resolution, either by waiting here about a week until a VM Forum Team Member picks up the thread, or give them a call on 150 from a VM line or 0345 454 1111 for a quicker response.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 39
  • 0
  • 0
philangst
Tuning in
176 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

thanks for the quick response, upstream power levels below. I tightened the coax on the box earlier and thought it had fixed it but have had 1 re-boot so must be another issue

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
425800000ATDMA41.816 qam64000005120
332600000ATDMA41.816 qam64000005120
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 454
  • 21
  • 101
Andy1975
Fibre optic
170 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

Have you got an attenuator on the back of the router by any chance? (small silver box on the end of the cable before it goes into the hub)

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 39
  • 0
  • 0
philangst
Tuning in
165 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

Yes it was fitted by a VM engineer sometime ago to rectify a previous issue when I had an earlier version of the superhub. Its connected to the incoming feed which then goes into a splitter, shall I remove it?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 454
  • 21
  • 101
Andy1975
Fibre optic
162 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

Yes remove it (turn router off when doing so), when all up and running again post your downstream power levels again.

There should be a rating on the label something like 6dBmv attenuator or simular? can you post what it says also.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 39
  • 0
  • 0
philangst
Tuning in
134 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

I've removed the attenuator (15d) ad the power levels have gone the other way

 

15mb attenuator.jpg

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID
1298750000937.6256 qam9
23227500008.937.6256 qam12
33147500008.637.6256 qam11
43067500008.837.6256 qam10
5290750000938.6256 qam8
6282750000938.9256 qam7
72747500008.938.6256 qam6
82667500008.838.6256 qam5
92587500008.538.9256 qam4
10250750000838.6256 qam3
112427500007.338.6256 qam2
122347500007.638.6256 qam1
Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
425800000ATDMA41.816 qam64000005120
332600000ATDMA41.816 qam64000005120
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 454
  • 21
  • 101
Andy1975
Fibre optic
123 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

15dB attenuator!!!!! wooooooow... Your engineers must be as good as our engineers, he must have grabbed the first one out of his pocket and rammed it on.

You need a 6dB attenuator fitted to bring them levels back down to being nice, 15 is just WAY to big... you can either wait for forum team to pick this thread up in a week or so who will book you an engineer out to fit one (good luck on him fitting the correct size).. Or you can buy them on ebay for a couple quid and fit it yourself.(remember you need a forward path one if you do)

 http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Technetix-6dB-forward-path-attenuator-/232224292210?hash=item3611a57d72:g:...

That is not a Virgin engineer selling stuff off his van to make a few bucks.. honest.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 39
  • 0
  • 0
philangst
Tuning in
100 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

Last night router re-booted every 10 mins so I connected 15db attenuator again and service has been a bit more stable tonight. I've ordered a 6db attenuator from your ebay link, so I'm hoping it will make a difference when it arrives

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.36K
  • 314
  • 523
Forum Team
Forum Team
79 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Random re-boots for about a week

Hi philangst,

 

Thanks for posting!

 

Sorry to hear you've had trouble with your connection.

 

I've located your account and your levels are looking quite healthy at the moment. How's your connection been lately?

 

Speak soon Smiley Very Happy

 

Josh


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply