Menu
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
jonahwigan
Tuning in
17,359 Views
Message 1 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

Please can someone help me.

 

Our Superhub keeps dropping the Wifi.

 

I have changed the wifi channel, restarted the superhub and hard reset the superhub but it keeps losing the wifi.


It is now utterly unusable and the telephone support is beyond dreadful.

 

Downstream
DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8
Frequency (Hz) 283000000 Hz 267000000 Hz 275000000 Hz 291000000 Hz 299000000 Hz 307000000 Hz 315000000 Hz 323000000 Hz
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked
Channel ID 107 105 106 108 109 110 111 112
Modulation QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV) 5.2 dBmV 5.7 dBmV 5.6 dBmV 4.9 dBmV 5.8 dBmV 6.1 dBmV 5.6 dBmV 5.4 dBmV
RxMER (dB) 38.2 dB 37.9 dB 38.0 dB 38.2 dB 38.1 dB 38.2 dB 37.9 dB 37.9 dB

 

Upstream
US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4
Channel Type 2.0 2.0 N/A N/A
Channel ID 3 1 N/A N/A
Frequency (Hz) 24400000 Hz 37600000 Hz N/A N/A
Ranging Status Success Success N/A N/A
Modulation QAM16 QAM16 N/A N/A
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 5120000 N/A N/A
Mini-Slot Size 128 128 N/A N/A
Power Level (dBmV) 39.5 dBmV 43.3 dBmV N/A N/A
T1 Timeouts 0 0 N/A N/A
T2 Timeouts 0 0 N/A N/A
T3 Timeouts 0 0 N/A N/A
T4 Timeouts 1 1 N/A N/A

 

Thank you in advance

 

One very angry Virgin Media customer

  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
inadau
Tuning in
17,355 Views
Message 2 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

Commiserations - I am in exactly the same situation, had the same experience: telephone support hopeless, after making me try all the usual things like switching channels, rebooting hub etc. they asked me to wait while they were doing more tests, then they hung up. So far support here has not helped either, I am seriously considering to give up and buy a cable router ( the Asus RT-N66U is highly recommended) and use the Virgin hub just as a modem.

 

another very angry virgin customer

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 39
  • 0
  • 2
adamfoz
On our wavelength
17,345 Views
Message 3 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

I'm in a similar situation. The call centre have reset the router to monitor and check to see if the wifi IS dropping. On the plus side, we were told we are eligible for a free upgrade on our BB speed. Smiley Happy

Debating whether to plug in our 2nd router again for Wifi downstairs?? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
inadau
Tuning in
17,341 Views
Message 4 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

I wasn't offered a free upgrade to BB speed, which quite honestly I need like a hole in  my head. It would be more honest,if they reimbursed us a month's fee.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.01K
  • 371
  • 1.06K
Moderator
Moderator
17,319 Views
Message 5 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

Hi jonahwigan,

 

Thanks for posting and welcome to the forums, though sorry to hear of the wireless connection problems. wireless by it's very nature can be difficult to troubleshoot, although I'm not ruling a potential problem with your Superhub.

 

It may be worth checking out the troubleshooting guide here, certainly dropping the wireless mode to 54Mbps and switching the security from auto to WPA2_PSK has been reported as helping reduce drop outs with some devices.

 

Thanks

 

 

Ralph_R
Forum Moderator

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


  • 81
  • 2
  • 3
Tomo72
Dialled in
17,308 Views
Message 6 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

If you're using a laptop, it's well worth updating the wireless adaptor drivers to the manufacturers latest, don't rely on Windows update

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
jonahwigan
Tuning in
17,297 Views
Message 7 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

Thanks for the suggestions.

 

I'll report back.

 

I still think it is a hardware issue and I still think your telephone tech support is dreadful.

 

These amendments could have been suggested by telephone support ages ago!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
sedw
Tuning in
17,281 Views
Message 8 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

I had the same problem and solved it by connecting my old Netgear router. The Virgin wbsite recommends switching the Superhub to modem only in those circumstances but I have found that unnecessary. I expect that any decent router would do. Why Virgin supply substandard equipment defeats me.

  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
17,262 Views
Message 9 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

Hi to all who have posted on here,

 

Really sorry for the wireless disconnections you've been experiencing and I hope you don't mind me posting to all of you right now.

I just want to clarify a couple of things first, after which I'll run individual diagnostics for each of you.

 

  • Firstly, how often is the wifi disconnecting (hourly, daily for instance)?
  • When the wifi disconnects do wired (via Ethernet) devices sustain a connection?
  • When wifi drops, is any error message displayed (on the desktop where the wifi connection is shown)?
  • Does this occur on 2.4GHz or 5GHz or both?

 

Next, please read this which explains some of the issues that can factor in wireless interference and please follow the suggestions offered.

 

Please post back on here and I'll then determine what we can do to help.

 

Many thanks Smiley Happy

 

Jen


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
sedw
Tuning in
17,217 Views
Message 10 of 96
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 dropping Wifi constantly

Hi Jen

In reply to your bullet points

When watching catch up the wifi drops almost every 10 mins

Wired remains OK

The TV sometimes (not always) displays a message saying the internet connection is lost

I have not tried the last point

As I said in my post, I have solved the problem by switching the Superhub to modem and reconnecting my old router (a standard Netgear one). I doubt very much that this is a channel problem as I live in a large detached house and we rarely get other people's wifi signals. The fact is that my old standard Netgear router worked (and works) well but the Superhub does not as is amply demonstrated by the posts. I simply ask why Virgin supplies a substandard piece of equipment.

0 Kudos
Reply