Menu
Up to speed
Message 1 of 13 (409 Views)

Replacement Router! Which and why>

Hi,

Ok i have a rather large network at home, Plex server, smart tv's, I pads, I phones, Android Phones, Games consoles, Game Pc, Laptops, Rokus, Andriod box, and a couple of NAS drives.

Also have powerline adapters and an access point, baby camera and a couple of Netgear 8 way Switches plus a few other bits and bobs (Like the boiler) all connected both on Lan via switches or Wireless 2.4 and 5 Ghz

Im looking into putting my superhub into modem mode, buying a proper Router, one with better features and wireless range/functions.

Can anyone suggest or recommend one that works well for the ... thanks Smiley Happy

****If I can help I will, I am an ex telecoms engineer and install/service engineer for Virgin Media and BT, Sky Talk Talk and Plus Net. If you like the answer I give please give it a thumbs up.. Glad to help Smiley Happy ****
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Superuser
Message 3 of 13 (722 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by sku11meister
2 weeks ago

Re: Replacement Router! Which and why>

[ Edited ]

I setup and monitor an Asus RT-AC3200 for a friend and it has excellent features and capabilities: https://www.asus.com/uk/Networking/RTAC3200/

It has 3 radios - two 5ghz and one 2.4ghz.

High gain antenna.

Universal and Standard beam-forming.

Advanced QoS.

The Traffic Analyser is very good and useful, with both device and app based breakdown of usage.

And a lot more.

Some wifi tests (bear in mind this is not in ideal conditions, but still everyone is happy with it and the signal strength they get on various devices):

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Modem-mode/m-p/3424368#M144314

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

All Replies
Problem sorter
Message 2 of 13 (395 Views)