Menu
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
TazzyK
Joining in
159 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

New Installation - Horrific Coverage

Hi all,

 

I'm a virgin to Virgin Smiley Embarassed so please bear with me.

 

I've been with TalkTalk for the last 10+ year, but issues over the last year that they've consistently failed to resolve meant that I wasn't going to put up with them any longer.

 

Cue, Virgin Media. 

 

So, the word on the street is that Virgin media and their broadband cannot be beaten, so I have been taken in by this, however, 24 hours since installation, and I'm wondering if I've made a mistake.

 

I tried some speed tests yesterday and it fluctuated from 10Mbps to 2.3Mbps.  I called customer services and was advised that I wasn't being charged from the installation day and that my services would be ok from tomorrow (i.e. today).  He asked if the TV was working (yes) and the phone (yes), so he concluded that even though I was getting a broadband signal, it would be drips and drabs until the following day.  He changed the channel anyway.

 

So today, over 24 hours later, it's still not any better.  I called customer services and was told "you have 11 devices connected".  But having 11 devices connected doesn't mean all are being used.  He changed the channel again but I'm not getting much coverage around the house.  Right now, I'm on the 1st floor, and 2 rooms to the left of the router (terraced house) and the signal is showing as 2 bars.  I was expecting vast improvements with the Hub 3.0 compared to the Netgear (which was better than the TalkTalk supplied 'super router').  Some of my devices aren't even picking up the router, yet I am able to see the SSID's of other VM routers around the road.  This can't be right.

 

So far, I'm unimpressed but I feel embarrassed calling customer services again.

 

Any help and advice please?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
TazzyK
Joining in
153 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation - Horrific Coverage

I just checked the router status, and there seems to be a fair few errors in the 18 -odd hours since my installation.  Not that I understand what these errors actually mean, but hopeful that someone can decipher this and advise on a solution:

 

Network Log
Date And Time
Error Number
Event Description
1970-01-01 00:28:44.00
84020100
Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1970-01-01 00:29:00.00
82000200
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1970-01-01 00:01:22.00
84020100
Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 10:23:19.00
82000200
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 10:23:46.00
69010200
SW Download INIT - Via Config file
2017-03-14 10:31:42.00
69011200
SW download Successful - Via Config file
2017-03-14 10:49:19.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 10:49:19.00
84000500
SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 10:49:19.00
84000700
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 10:49:20.00
84000500
SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 10:49:24.00
84020200
Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 10:49:48.00
82000400
Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 12:22:35.00
68010100
DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 12:47:27.00
68010400
DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-14 12:47:27.00
68010600
DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-Va8201799de4e3b26.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-15 15:45:06.00
73025104
Registration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-15 15:45:06.00
73025103
Registration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-15 15:45:06.00
73027100
T6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-03-15 15:45:06.00
73000200
REG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

TIA

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.96K
  • 291
  • 624
Forum Team
Forum Team
141 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation - Horrific Coverage

Hello TazzyK,

Thanks for posting and a warm welcome to the community Smiley Very Happy

Great to hear that you've just joined us!

I'd like to sincerely apologise for the connection problems, I can see your power levels are out of range today, so we will need to get an engineer out to you.

I'll drop you a PM (purple envelope, top right) to confirm an appointment.

Speak with you very soon,

Take care.

Heather_J

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
TazzyK
Joining in
126 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation - Horrific Coverage

Hi Heather,

 

Thank you for your reply.

 

I'm just about to reply to your PM, but thought I'd acknowledge you here as well!

 

I'm not sure what it means when you say my "power levels were out of range", but if this is the cause of the bad coverage, then I'm almost £60 out of pocket having purchased the powerline adaptors as after a number of phone call I've been convinced that the problem is "my house walls" - something that's never been a problem with my previous provider.

 

TazzyK

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.96K
  • 291
  • 624
Forum Team
Forum Team
119 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation - Horrific Coverage

Hello TazzyK,

Thanks for a quick reply Smiley Happy

I've just confirmed your appointment via Private Message. The power level issue I mentioned is mainly affecting your upstream, so it's possible to not have a direct link to the connectivity issues you're having. However, it's important that we address all connection errors. Additionally you've mentioned that your TV services are also playing up so the engineer can look into this too.

Please update us after the visit.

Take care.

Heather_J

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
TazzyK
Joining in
104 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation - Horrific Coverage

UPDATE:

The engineer's been and found everything to be ok, but said he will increase the signal slightly from the cabinet down the road.  I asked if that would help with the picture quality on the TV and he said yes, but to be honest I haven't noticed any difference whatsoever.  Freeview is still clearer I think.

In terms of the wifi signal around the house, well it seems I wasted £60-odd on the powerline wifi plugs that I bought off Virgin.  Although these work to extend the network, it's only slight and the coverage still comes and goes.  Surprisingly, the better solution might be to use the Hub 3.0 as a modem only (as they're basically not all they're hyped up to be) and use my old 'N' router for the wifi as the coverage on that was better. 

I'm quite surprised though that VM engineers as well as the engineers from my old provider tend to agree that the 'super hub' routers supplied by their respective services aren't actually superior to what's available to the general public.  I feel that maybe the providers are misleading their customers through their advertising.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.96K
  • 291
  • 624
Forum Team
Forum Team
82 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation - Horrific Coverage

Hello TazzyK,

Thanks for the update Smiley Happy

Sorry to hear that the engineer visit hasn't made very much difference. I do know that wireless can be tricky and is affected by the environment. You might find that a 3rd party router improves the performance, but ultimately wireless connections cannot be guaranteed.

Please accept my apologies for any frustration this causes.

Thanks for your patience,

Take care.  

Heather_J

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply