Menu
Reply
  • 46
  • 0
  • 0
TRT1968
On our wavelength
322 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

National Lottery server not responding

I can't get the National Lottery website via broadband. Works over 3G but it's been like this for over a week. My Geo-location is reporting correctly for my local Virgin Media connection hub.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
297 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: National Lottery server not responding

Hi TRT1968,

This is a strange one but I'll do my best to help. To be honest this is either a routing issue that we can flag up to Networks or it's something on your local network - pc security software for instance.

I have a couple of questions to ask:

  • Are you having this problem on one or more devices?
  • Is the site inaccessible over Wi-Fi or Ethernet, or both?

 

Please perform a traceroute, via a wired connection, to the National Lottery website, and post the output on here. That should provide us with a good idea of what's happening.

Awaiting your reply Smiley Happy


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 46
  • 0
  • 0
TRT1968
On our wavelength
285 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: National Lottery server not responding

Hi,

I'm getting the problem just through the cable modem here on Virgin. It's multiple devices, phone via WiFi, Laptop via WiFi, desktop via Cat5e cable, Web browser on wired Apple TV... all don't return any pages from the national-lottery site.

If I VPN into my work's network in London, I get through just fine on the phone and desktop which have the VPN connection.

I can sometimes see images from the National Lottery website if I search via Google, sometimes they will load (I think they might be cached actually in my browser) and sometimes not. The routing to the national lottery load balancer looks OK, but I can't get any further than that. The DNS is returning the same IP address for the load balancer both through virginmedia and through my VPN.

My son who is also in Watford, in another part of the town about 2 miles away, can access the national lottery site fine.

I have my modem set to pass-through or modem mode only as I have more advanced networking gear than the Superhub hanging off it.

I can only think that it's something the Lottery people have done to block some IP addresses somehow. Or it's a blocked route in Virgin somewhere. I'm getting the trace route now.

Traceroute has started…

traceroute to www.lb.national-lottery.co.uk (217.163.91.197), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
1 INTERNAL NETWORK ADDRESS (INTERNAL NETWORK ADDRESS OF GATEWAY) 3.950 ms 4.504 ms 1.446 ms
2 * * *
3 watf-core-2b-xe-032-0.network.virginmedia.net (80.3.1.89) 98.667 ms 28.399 ms 3076.649 ms
4 popl-bb-1c-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.175.94) 39.516 ms 21.825 ms 49.270 ms
5 * * *
6 nrth-ic-1-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.254.42.218) 686.222 ms 28.745 ms 33.983 ms
7 m674-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net (62.254.42.162) 39.345 ms 19.478 ms 15.075 ms
8 * * *
9 84.116.136.98 (84.116.136.98) 150.907 ms 151.798 ms 312.646 ms
10 213.46.174.170 (213.46.174.170) 1017.660 ms 177.331 ms 34.502 ms
11 * * 4.69.167.196 (4.69.167.196) 1528.585 ms
12 4.69.167.196 (4.69.167.196) 15.369 ms 21.639 ms 27.528 ms
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *

and then it goes on and on but my trace route has no timeout like the web browser does.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
275 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: National Lottery server not responding

Hi TRT1968,

Thanks very much for that.

The results are, pretty much, what I get when run a traceroute to the same destination IP (217.163.91.197) via command prompt and then from the CMTS using your default gateway address.

There is a small variation with the latter - the IP on hop 14, 213.46.174.170, where the last octet changes to 110.

If you don't mind I'd like you to repeat the traceroute, but this time remove your own router please and disable modem mode on the Hub.
This will provide a new WAN IP and I'm interested to see the results of that. 

Thanks once again,


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 46
  • 0
  • 0
TRT1968
On our wavelength
261 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: National Lottery server not responding

Hi, I got a new IP address as you said, and I could reach the National Lottery site.

When I put it back into modem mode, the same IP address was previous was issued and the National Lottery site couldn't be reached.

These are the IP addresses:

Modem mode 86.14.******* - doesn't work
SuperHub mode 86.14.******* - works
Modem more 86.14.******* - doesn't work

 [MOD EDIT: For your security personal and private information has been removed from this post. Please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
235 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: National Lottery server not responding

Hi TRT1968,

Thanks for trying that.

Would you mind posting the traceroute results please? I'd like to see the difference in routing. 

Many thanks Smiley Happy


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 46
  • 0
  • 0
TRT1968
On our wavelength
231 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: National Lottery server not responding

So long as it doesn't get modded out. Can I PM you?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
222 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: National Lottery server not responding

Hi TRT1968,

The Moderators edited out your WAN IP addresses for privacy/security reasons. You should be fine to post your traceroute here but by all means send a PM if you'd prefer Smiley Happy


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 46
  • 0
  • 0
TRT1968
On our wavelength
219 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: National Lottery server not responding

Yes, I had considered the implications of posting an IP address, but I couldn't see any realistic way to give you the important information whilst redacting any of it! And whilst it shouts out my broad location, I use a net-moniker anyway, and the information can't actually be used for that much mischief that isn't already possible to do another way.

Knowing that you appear to have taken ownership of the issue means that I can PM you more information later on when I get change to gather it. Thank you!

0 Kudos
Reply