Menu
sharpshooter84
Joining in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Loss of connection every 7 days

Hi.

I'm losing internet connection every 7 days to the minute. There is no reconnection until I reboot the modem or router. This has happened ever since upgrading to the hub 3.0.

I'm no expert but its obviously a lease time issue but I don't know what to do to remedy this.

The hub 3 is in modem mode and I'm using a netgear r7800 as a router.

Any help appreciated.

0 Kudos
Compbck
Superfast
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Loss of connection every 7 days

I just love Netgear Routers and have many years of trouble free networking with various models, but very occasionally they do play up. 

You may need to carry out some elimination tasks to narrow down what might be causing this regular connection shutdown.

Before pressing the good old support button I would recommend trying the VM Hub in Router Mode to  see if the same problem exists, better still set it back to Factory Default, which in theory should clear any obvious configuration issues. It may also be worth setting the Netgear Router back to Factory Default as for good measure and start again with a clean slate.

I love to hear back from you, should you choose to carry out the above suggestions.

0 Kudos
sharpshooter84
Joining in
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

In the router logs it gives me the lease details

Lease Obtained6 Days, 23 Hours, 32 Minutes
Lease Expires6 Days, 23 Hours, 7 Minutes

Basically, when this goes to zero the connection drops out, the light on the router says theres no connection. If I reboot either the router or the modem the lease is renewed and the connection resumes.

Again, I'm no expert but as far as I'm aware the lease obtained by the router for the WAN port is assigned by the hub 3 yet I can see no options for this in the hub 3 settings. Running the hub 3 in router mode is not an option because its crap.

0 Kudos
Forum Team (Retired) Adam_L
Forum Team (Retired)