Menu
cannfoddr
Tuning in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

IPv6 - when?

Just received an email from Sixxs.net to say they will be shutting down their excellent IPv6 tunnel brokering service for IPv6.  Ive been using them since 2012 to provide me with a number of tunnels for home and work, its a real shame that they are going but I think they have come to the conclusion that so long as they and others are filling the huge gap in IPv6 being left by the ISPs then adoption will not move forward the way it should.

A quick look through the forums here an quite a few questions about IPv6 mostly answered by Virgin doesn't support IPv6, going all the way back to 2012.

Some references to an ISP review article give some glimmers of hope for this year.

I recognise the chances of getting a straightforward answer are extremely remote....

"When will Virgin Media be able to provide me with proper working IPv6 access with a /48 address to call my very own?"

Yes I know what I am talking about when it comes to IPv6, I have been running IPv6 across my home networks for at least the last 5 years.

Come on VM lets get things moving!!

Cameronb
On our wavelength
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: IPv6 - when?

I completely agree... Come on Virgin Media step it up! Let's get IPv6 enabled :-)

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Virgin remain tight-lipped as to when they'll be deploying IPv6 so your guess is as good as mine.

I use Hurricane Electrics Tunnelbroker.net myself so I too have had IPv6 up and running for some time.  I note though that although the original recommendation was that end users be given a /48 this was changed to suggest that they be given a /56 instead.  Certainly, for most home users, that should support their subnetting needs.

We've yet to see what form Virgin's v6 allocation will take but if they give everyone a /48 I'd be surprised.