Menu
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
freakav
Joining in
120 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

I wanna change my IP

Hello Virgin Media,

 

I am using modem broadband and I want to change my ip address ! Why ? Because I am in a gaming domain and in 2017 it is so easy to get an IP address ! Basically someone Flood me or DDOS me and I can do anything to stop it . Is there any way to prevent this ? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.22K
  • 91
  • 228
stevedh2
Knows their stuff
116 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

If you switch your hub off for long enough you'll get a new ip.. not sure how long long enough is though.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
freakav
Joining in
111 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

I can't switch off . I am using everyday ... We need another option ...

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16.09K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.26K
Superuser
Superuser
109 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

hiya @freakav you could report this via http://netreport.virginmedia.com/netreport/ since if somebody gets your Ip address they'll have same issue, since if this is coming from within the UK they are breaking a few legal acts.
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
freakav
Joining in
107 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

Even that person is from another country ? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16.09K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.26K
Superuser
Superuser
105 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

oops meant to say if you gets your old IP address, they could be getting flooded, also what supects yo this is happening to you?, if the attacks are coming from outside of the UK not much virginmedia can do apart from raise it to the other ISP
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
freakav
Joining in
102 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

Yeah its hard to do something like that and its outside of the UK ! I thought Virgin Media can change my ip address ! Or even if I restart my router the ip to be changed ... 

 

I can do anything, even if I play something I will be down for a while and I need to restart my router ! 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16.09K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.26K
Superuser
Superuser
92 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

i would be checking the hub stats by going to http://192.168.100.1 clicking router status top right [no need to login] and if could copy/paste the downstream, upstream, network log
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
freakav
Joining in
77 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

I just checked the logs and I found some flood attacks : 

20/01/2017 13:49:08 GMT 20/01/2017 13:49:08 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - "my ip address here"

20/01/2017 13:48:27 GMT 20/01/2017 13:48:27 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
20/01/2017 13:48:24 GMT 20/01/2017 13:48:24 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
20/01/2017 13:48:21 GMT 20/01/2017 13:48:21 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
20/01/2017 13:48:13 GMT 20/01/2017 13:48:13 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
20/01/2017 13:48:04 GMT 20/01/2017 13:48:04 GMT Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
20/01/2017 13:47:21 GMT 20/01/2017 13:47:21 GMT Error (4) 68000409 TOD not Established
20/01/2017 13:47:09 GMT 20/01/2017 13:47:09 GMT Critical (3) 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
20/01/2017 13:47:09 GMT 20/01/2017 13:47:09 GMT Critical (3) 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
20/01/2017 13:46:52 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:52 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:51 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
20/01/2017 13:46:45 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:45 GMT Critical (3) 84000500 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync
20/01/2017 13:46:44 GMT 20/01/2017 13:46:44 GMT Critical (3) 84000500 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync

 

Is there any way to change my IP to solve this problem ? I can do nothing on my internet because every single hour I get flood attack.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16.09K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.26K
Superuser
Superuser
50 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: I wanna change my IP

hiya @freakav those errors are common errors between your hub and the CMTS, to get a new IP address quickest way would be putting the hub into modem mode and using a 3rd party router (a lot of my fellow superusers advise getting something like a asus rt68u series, not the cheapest in the world but well worth it)_, since virginmedia tech support wouldn't be able to give you a new IP address, this is due how the IP address is linked partly to your hubs MAC address.
since leaving your hub off for a few days, you could still get the same IP address, people have had the same IP for years, with leaving there hub off for a few weeks.
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply