Menu
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tdh19882012
Tuning in
23,258 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

Hello I'm not sure if this is the right area to post this but, anyway... Yet again the internet here has gone off and we have the usual flashing tick and green arrow. We did ring up a while ago (few weeks or more) about the issue and, as expected, got the 'engineer in the area' routine.

Ever since then it has been on and off, though mostly on to be fair. Definitely the worst service I've ever had however regarding, you know, it actually working as close to 100% of the time as possible.

I would be very appreciative of any suggestions :-) even if it's as simple as 'try to put up with it until your contract runs out and then switch supplier immediately'.

The modem is in a suitable location by the way and I've tried the one thing everyone knows to do... Turn it off and on again.
0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
46,477 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

Have you checked the service status page for any known issues in your area?
https://my.virginmedia.com/faults/service-status

If that is not showing any area faults then posting some hub stats might be helpful.  If you go to http://192.168.100.1/ to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screen shots if that is easier.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take up to a week) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
46,466 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

If there is no area fault showing and the online check can't get through to your hub, combined with no Upstream channels locked on, then you need to report the fault.  Either call VM and report it or wait for the forum staff to get to this thread which currently can take up to a week.

If you choose to wait for a staff response here, the forum team respond to the oldest post waiting for a reply. This means if you keep posting on the thread it will bump you to the bottom of their list.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.


All Replies
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
46,478 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

Have you checked the service status page for any known issues in your area?
https://my.virginmedia.com/faults/service-status

If that is not showing any area faults then posting some hub stats might be helpful.  If you go to http://192.168.100.1/ to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screen shots if that is easier.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take up to a week) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tdh19882012
Tuning in
23,244 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

Hello thank you for the reply :-) well the online check just says it thinks my equipment is switched off... It definitely isn't.

Network log says the same thing all the way down... Time not established. Time not established. Critical (3). Error 82000200. No ranging response received - T3 time-out.

Downstream... All for DS-1, frequency 203000000, lock status Locked, channel ID 1, modulation 256QAM, symbol rate 6.952000, interleave depth I=12 J=17, power level -2.56, rxmer 28.46, pre rs errors 921283, post rs errors 986.

Upstream... Everything says N/A except for ranging status which says Other, and T1 timeouts which says 23.

All the above information does change slightly whenever I refresh the page but it's basically the same.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
46,467 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

If there is no area fault showing and the online check can't get through to your hub, combined with no Upstream channels locked on, then you need to report the fault.  Either call VM and report it or wait for the forum staff to get to this thread which currently can take up to a week.

If you choose to wait for a staff response here, the forum team respond to the oldest post waiting for a reply. This means if you keep posting on the thread it will bump you to the bottom of their list.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tdh19882012
Tuning in
23,231 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

Ah ok then, thank you very much for the quick replies :-)
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tdh19882012
Tuning in
23,224 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

I just rang them and we do indeed need an engineer to come and check it out... Nothing available until Tuesday morning though. It's guaranteed to come back on way before then it always does, but never mind.

Thank you again :-)
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
FMtoNxt1
Joining in
23,139 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

I would be really grateful if you could indicate what phone number you called.   I have to use a separate dongle because of the same problem: yesterday and today, there is a green flashing arrow on the modem and service has died.   I just hope this is not the end of service.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
23,138 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

@FMtoNxt1 You call the normal VM number, which is from a Virgin Media landline or mobile or 

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
FMtoNxt1
Joining in
23,104 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

Thanks for this information.   It is working well now.  That's good.   I did do a reboot of it.    

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tdh19882012
Tuning in
23,041 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Green flashing arrow on modem... Again.

Well... Here we are again. I did ring them last week and had an engineer booked (who we actually forgot about in all honesty but never showed anyway) engineer may have been cancelled because we failed to respond to a voicemail left by one of Virgin's friendly yet painful to understand Indian employees. I genuinely could not understand a word the man said.

Problem is exactly the same so I'm guessing the resolution will be the same... Call them. The idea of actually ringing is making me die a little inside because while all Indian people I've ever spoken to over the phone have been lovely, they are just too frustrating to speak to and it's so awkward having to ask them to repeat themselves all the time.

I will gladly wait for someone from Virgin to answer this if it means I won't have to ring one of their offshore call centres.

Problem is simple, green flashing arrow and sometimes flashing sometimes absent blue tick. No Internet connection and online test just assumes I'm a tw*t telling me to make sure my modem is switched on...

So anyway, hopefully Virgin will reply to this. Otherwise it will have to be find an alternative provider which maybe doesn't use Asian call centres :-/
0 Kudos
Reply