Menu
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
jmh1e14
Joining in
1,103 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Flashing lights on superhub

Hello 

Sorry if this issue has been raised in a prior thread.

I have been with virgin media for two years now. In recent months the internet has been getting a bit troublesome. It runs really slowly at random times and in rare instances does not work at all.

It is running really slowly at the moment. I can currently see the light with the arrows at the top flashing blue, the middle light with the tick solid green and the bottom light (with the signal on it) flashing green intermittently.

What do you think may be the cause? May be worth noting that there is another virgin media connection very close by (4-5 bars), could that be interfering with things? I've done the old classic turning it off and on again in these situations but to no avail.

Thanks for any help

Jonny

Southampton, UK

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.87K
  • 175
  • 338
J0hn
Super solver
1,090 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Flashing lights on superhub

It could be the other wifi, changing your channel will sort that issue out, log onto your router and change the 5Ghz channel to a different number 36 if you have it will do fine, then report back Smiley Happy
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.01K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
1,084 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Flashing lights on superhub

Which SH do you have?

Is it the VMDG 480?

Posting some basic diagnostic info may help.

Navigate to the hub's GUI using http://192.168.100.1
Don't log in, click the Router Status button in the top right of the screen.
Copy \ Paste the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs.

Don't worry about the formatting.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
jmh1e14
Joining in
1,049 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Flashing lights on superhub

Hello

I have tried changing the network channel but the problem seems to be re-occurring.

It is indeed the VMDG 480. Here is some basic diagnostic info:

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8 170750000 Hz 178750000 Hz 186750000 Hz 194750000 Hz 202750000 Hz 210750000 Hz 218750000 Hz 226750000 Hz Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 2.9 dBmV 2.6 dBmV 2.0 dBmV 1.3 dBmV 2.9 dBmV 2.6 dBmV 2.3 dBmV 1.7 dBmV 40.8 dB 40.9 dB 40.8 dB 40.4 dB 40.3 dB 40.3 dB 40.4 dB 39.9 dB

Frequency (Hz)
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)
Channel ID
Modulation
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)
Interleave Depth
Power Level (dBmV)
RxMER (dB)

 

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4 2.0 2.0 N/A N/A 46 47 N/A N/A 25800000 Hz 53700000 Hz N/A N/A Success Success N/A N/A QAM16 QAM16 N/A N/A 5120000 5120000 N/A N/A 128 128 N/A N/A 41.0 dBmV 44.5 dBmV N/A N/A 0 0 N/A N/A 0 0 N/A N/A 0 0 N/A N/A 0 0 N/A N/A

Channel Type
Channel ID
Frequency (Hz)
Ranging Status
Modulation
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)
Mini-Slot Size
Power Level (dBmV)
T1 Timeouts
T2 Timeouts
T3 Timeouts
T4 Timeouts

 

There is nothing in the network log at this point in time.

Thanks for your replies Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.01K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
1,036 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Flashing lights on superhub

The stats are fine, but you will still need to test the connection with a device connected directly to the hub by ethernet cable to completely rule out the internet connection as the culprit.

I take it the hub is in an open position away from obstacles and electrical devices.

Downloading a wireless scanner like InSSIDer for Windows or WiFi Analyser for Android to see what channels the oyjer network is broadcasting on, so you can change channel accordingly, remembering that wireless channels overlap on the 2.4Ghz band, so you want to be at least 4 channels away from any other network. Bear in mind, the scanner will not pick up interference from domestic appliances like A\V streaming devices, Baby monitors, Chordless phones, Microwave ovens, Plasma TVs, Security systems etc.

I would check that the up is set to 144Mbps on the 2.4Ghz band.

It may be worth changing the hub to the 5Ghz band if your client devices support it.

The SH1 has a poor wireless reputation, purchasing your own wireless router and putting the hub in modem mode may help, whether it will completely solve the problem will depend on how badly your wireless connection is congested. Or, it might be worth giving Retentions a ring (Thinking of leaving us option), have a friendly chat saying how bad your WiFi is, and see if you can blag a SH2, SH2ac or a Hub 3 (if you do not need any basic advanced features as the firmware is still a bit flaky) for a minimal fee, bearing in mibd they might try and tie you into a new contract.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
1,000 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Flashing lights on superhub

Hi Jonny,

 

Thanks for posting and a warm welcome to the community.

 

I'm sorry to read that you are having issues with your broadband connection.

 

I've taken a look at your connection, the line and hub is running fine with no issues. The network segment is stable and healthy.

 

I can see that you have been given some great advice from griffin, did this help at all? If you can try a speed test through a wired connection to see what speeds you achieve, that will be helpful. When the broadband stops working, do any lights on the router change at all?

 

Hope to hear from you soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply