Menu
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Laura13
Joining in
80 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Erratic connection speed

Hello, for 2 - 3 weeks now I've been having issues with internet speed being incredibly unreliable and erratic. I live with 4 other people and we are all heavy internet users, however this has not caused us any issues in the past and neither have our usage habits changed since these problems started. We're using a Hub 3.0 with Vivid 200 optical fibre package.

The problems happen randomly at any time of the day, however they are worse in the evenings presumably because it's peak time and the net slows down a little anyway at those times.

I've tried rebooting the router, and also changed the router password to remove all other devices from the network to see if anything happened but the issue still persists - the speed my device is receiving will drop from over 11mbps to less than 100kbps. for two nights in a row the speed couldn't even get over that 100kbps. 

The router shares a channel with 1 nearby network, but no others are overlapping or sharing that channel.

Does anyone have any idea what might be causing this?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
72 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Erratic connection speed

Are you able to test speeds using a wired Ethernet connection?  This would be a good first step in diagnosing if the issue is just with the wireless or with the speed being delivered to the hub.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Laura13
Joining in
58 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Erratic connection speed

I'm sorry, I can't test speeds using ethernet, but one of my housemates has a playstation plugged into it and has said he's also been noticing the speed drops.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
55 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Erratic connection speed

The Playstation isn't the most reliable source as it could be slow because the Playstation network is slow and the speed tests on my PS3 & PS4 always show slower speeds than my PC gets.

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take 7-10 days) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Laura13
Joining in
53 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Erratic connection speed

Downstream:

2987500002.537.6256 qam17
3227500002.237.6256 qam20
3 3147500001.737.6256 qam19
4 306750000237.6256 qam18
5 2907500002.237.3256 qam16
6 2827500002.538.6256 qam15
7 2747500002.238.6256 qam14
8 2667500002.737.6256 qam13
9 2587500002.537.6256 qam12
10 2507500002.938.6256 qam11
11 242750000338.6256 qam10
12 234750000338.6256 qam9
13 2267500003.438.6256 qam8
14 2187500003.238.6256 qam7
15 2107500003.238.6256 qam6
16 2027500003.438.9256 qam5
17 1947500003.438.9256 qam4
18 1867500003.738.9256 qam3
19 1787500003.738.9256 qam2
20 170750000438.6256 qam1

 

Upstream:

6060300000ATDMA50.564 qam64000005120
5732600000ATDMA50.564 qam64000005120

 

Network Log:

2017-01-17 00:12:52.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
2017-01-17 08:21:43.0084000700RCS Partial Service;
2017-01-17 20:11:12.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
2017-01-24 13:30:12.0084000700RCS Partial Service;
2017-01-24 14:10:29.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
2017-01-24 16:07:42.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
2017-01-25 23:37:46.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;
2017-01-26 22:44:01.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
2017-01-27 10:24:16.0084000700RCS Partial Service;
2017-01-27 13:52:03.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
2017-01-28 23:48:59.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
2017-01-29 00:11:56.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
2017-01-29 09:39:36.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
2017-01-29 17:28:10.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
2017-01-29 18:16:24.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;
2017-01-29 19:28:52.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
2017-01-29 19:29:04.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
2017-01-29 19:30:16.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;
2017-01-30 02:28:06.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
2017-01-31 08:05:55.0084000700RCS Partial Service;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
48 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Erratic connection speed

Downstream power levels look OK but upstream is borderline too high as the max recommended is 51 and yours are both at 50.5.  The errors in the log don't look healthy either.

This will probably need a technician visit to sort out the power levels and investigate the cause of the errors in the log. You can call VM and try to book a visit or wait for the VM staff to get to this thread and they can help you book a visit.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Laura13
Joining in
45 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Erratic connection speed

Thank you for your help

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.88K
  • 120
  • 203
Forum Team (Retired) Adam_L
Forum Team (Retired)
33 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Erratic connection speed

Hi Laura13, 

Thanks for letting us know about your issues with your erratic connection speeds, I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I've tested things from here and I noticed that your upstream power levels are on the higher side of the scale, I would like to arrange for an engineer to resolve this for you.

I will send you a PM (purple envelope at the top) detailing what's required to proceed with making the booking. Please respond to me there and I'll get this sorted for you.

Take care, 

Thanks, 

Adam.


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply