Menu
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
kentish2501
Tuning in
168 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Dropping connection

Hi apologies for formatting having to do this via mobile.

Last 2 days my Internet has been dropping and reconnecting every other minute. Called and am being sent a replacement router however looking into this online most people are saying this is a power level issue and therefore needs an engineer.

I've gone to the router to get the details of mine in hopes that someone can confirm if these are OK as don't want to wait for a new hub only to find it doesn't change anything.

Downstream
DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8
Frequency (Hz) 299000000 Hz 267000000 Hz 275000000 Hz 283000000 Hz 291000000 Hz 307000000 Hz 315000000 Hz 323000000 Hz
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked
Channel ID 13 9 10 11 12 14 15 16
Modulation QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV) 5.8 dBmV 5.5 dBmV 5.2 dBmV 4.9 dBmV 4.7 dBmV 6.0 dBmV 5.6 dBmV 5.4 dBmV
RxMER (dB) 39.4 dB 39.5 dB 39.4 dB 39.4 dB 39.0 dB 39.4 dB 39.4 dB 39.0 dB

Believe I'm on a super hub if that makes a difference.

Any help greatly appreciated.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
kentish2501
Tuning in
159 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropping connection

If it helps log below


Network Log
First Time Last Time Priority Error Number Description
12/10/2016 16:57:28 12/10/2016 16:57:28 Critical (3) 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - Re-initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2016 16:56:44 12/10/2016 16:56:44 Critical (3) 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - Re-initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
kentish2501
Tuning in
145 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropping connection

Upstream
US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4
Channel Type 2.0 2.0 N/A N/A
Channel ID 1 2 N/A N/A
Frequency (Hz) 46200000 Hz 39400000 Hz N/A N/A
Ranging Status Success Success N/A N/A
Modulation QAM16 QAM16 N/A N/A
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 5120000 N/A N/A
Mini-Slot Size 128 128 N/A N/A
Power Level (dBmV) 52.3 dBmV 53.0 dBmV N/A N/A
T1 Timeouts 0 0 N/A N/A
T2 Timeouts 0 0 N/A N/A
T3 Timeouts 0 0 N/A N/A
T4 Timeouts 1 1 N/A N/A
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
116 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropping connection

The upstream power levels are little bit too high, the maximum recommended is 51dBmv and your channels are both above that.  This could very easily cause dropped connections.

This will indeed need an engineer visit to sort out these power levels.  I would normally say call VM and try to book a visit but as your last call resulted in a misdiagnosis of a faulty hub, that might not be the best option but you are welcome to try.  Hopefully somebody from the forum team will help you book a visit when they are back in the office tomorrow.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
kentish2501
Tuning in
102 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropping connection

Hi Scott thanks for the response

I'll give them another go as the knowledge of the contact centre seems to vary depending on who you talk to. Hopefully I can get them to run a diagnostic and confirm the power levels as the issue.

Thanks again
  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
72 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropping connection

Hi kentish2501,

 

Thanks for taking the time to post on the community.

 

Sorry to read that you are experiencing intermittent broadband connection.

 

As Scott mentioned the upstream power levels are too high and are rising. They are currently at + 55 dBmV and for this I can arrange an engineer appointment for you to check this over. I've sent you a PM (purple envelope icon, right corner) with some details for you to confirm please. Once you have replied I can go ahead with the appointment.

 

Hope to hear from you soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply