Menu
DarrenSto
Tuning in
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Devices randomly unable to connect to WiFi on Superhub 2

Hi all,

I've called 150 to report this issue but the operators I've spoken to have been terrible! Both were either pig ignorant (kept telling me I'm wrong etc) or simply didn't understand a word of English.

A bit of background - I'm a dual CCNP certified Network Engineer for one of the UK's largest education providers. I have 14 years' experience in IT. I live with my partner and our 3 children. We have 9 devices with the capability of connecting to our Superhub 2 wirelessly at any given time, plus 4 wired devices in case that's relevant.

The issue I have is that at seemingly random intervals, one or two wireless devices will lose connection to the Superhub and will not reconnect until i physically reboot the unit by hitting the power button on the back.

We have 3 Android tablets, 2 Android phones, 1 Windows Mobile 8.1 phone, 2 iPads and a WD TV Live media player connected wirelessly (but rarely used and usually powered off when the issue occurs). There is also a PC, NAS drive and Smart TV patched into the Ethernet ports on the back of the SuperHub.

The problem is not isolated to a specific device. For example, the issue occurred earlier this morning and only my daughter's Android tablet couldn't connect. Last time it happened it was my iPad failing to connect.. I should stress that all other devices, wireless or wired, generally remain unaffected when this problem occurs. It's very inconvenient having to reboot the entire Superhub just to get one device working.

Power cycling the affected devices doesn't fix them, nor does assigning a IP address manually or forgetting and re-adding the wireless network. Only a manual reset of the router resolves the problem.