Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-07-2015
Message 1 of 9 (4,521 Views)

DNS server error

[ Edited ]

we have lost broadband connection since last night, with troubleshooting showing up a diagnosis of DNS server error.

 

looking at self-help on site, I've found and manually set both primary and secondary addresses, but still not resolved.

 

 

our area has a fault: F003757609 - started at 5.30PM yesterday, but it doesn't specify what the actual problem is.

we lost service around 23:30 hrs

 

 

0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Super solver
  • 1.79K
  • 128
  • 549
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Message 2 of 9 (8,611 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Coops316
‎28-08-2015 00:15

Re: DNS server error

Try using OpenDNS instead of Virgin's ...

 

Primary:   208.67.222.222

 

Secondary: 208.67.220.220

 

 

 

********** SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - 70Mbit Service ***********

Electron

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Super solver
  • 1.79K
  • 128
  • 549
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Message 2 of 9 (8,612 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Coops316
‎28-08-2015 00:15

Re: DNS server error

Try using OpenDNS instead of Virgin's ...

 

Primary:   208.67.222.222

 

Secondary: 208.67.220.220

 

 

 

********** SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - 70Mbit Service ***********

Electron
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-07-2015
Message 3 of 9 (4,512 Views)

Re: DNS server error

ok, thanks Dave. will try that tonight when I get home.

 

how does that affect speeds though, if using someone else's server to verify things?

0 Kudos
Super solver
  • 1.79K
  • 128
  • 549
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Message 4 of 9 (4,500 Views)

Re: DNS server error

[ Edited ]

Hi Coops.  Actually in my experience, the OpenDNS servers are usually faster than VM's anyway.  I use OpenDNS as my preferred choice, not as a fall-back.

 

You could also try Google's DNS servers ...

 

8.8.8.8

 

8.8.4.4

 

 

 

********** SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - 70Mbit Service ***********

Electron
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-07-2015
Message 5 of 9 (4,475 Views)

Re: DNS server error

noted, shall give them all a test later on

 

 

0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-07-2015
Message 6 of 9 (4,437 Views)

Re: DNS server error


Coops316 wrote:

 

our area has a fault: F003757609 - started at 5.30PM yesterday, but it doesn't specify what the actual problem is.

we lost service around 23:30 hrs

 

 



just wondering if someone from Virgin can confirm what the above error is actually for, my wife still can't get connected at home despite receiving signal from router.

 

any ideas when DNS servers would be back online?

 

 

no problem to change my laptop when I get home, but don't really want to do it for every single device that might access wireless signal.

 

 

many thanks,

Paul

 

0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-07-2015
Message 7 of 9 (4,392 Views)

Re: DNS server error

I'm addition, now home and no other dns options worked. Pinged all 6 mentioned, with no returns yet everything on router appears okay? As it's multiple devices then I'm guessing it's virgin end.

Can someone please confirm above mentioned fault, is that related?
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8K
  • 249
  • 811
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 8 of 9 (4,303 Views)

Re: DNS server error

Hello Coops316

 

Welcome to the forum, so sorry you are having DNS problems, we will try to help.

 

We had a CMTS fault in your area ref F003757609 where some customers were unable to obtain an IP address. We think we have fixed this yesterday and are monitoring things to be sure. At the moment you have a valid IP address, phew Smiley Happy

 

We have no known problems with our DNS servers. Sometimes the default error on a device is to say unable to contact DNS server when the entire internet connection lost such as a faulty IP situation and it is not specifically a DNS issue, I wonder if that is what has happened.

 

Are you able to ping our DNS

 

Primary DNS: 194.168.4.100
Secondary DNS: 194.168.8.100
 
What happens if you go back to using ours? Please give as much detail as you can.
 
Many thanks Smiley Happy
Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-07-2015
Message 9 of 9 (4,290 Views)

Re: DNS server error

thanks Nicola,

can confirm it came back on around 6PM yesterday, and didn't have any dropouts whilst using it last night.

 

as you say it was a fault with entire connection, so although I had changed to OpenDNS and Google options to test, because they didn't work either I reverted to auto select, so will have been using your servers.

 

 

can now consider this closed, just frustrated that the online service status doesn't give any details as to the actual problem, just a general statement.

the fault said phone, tv, and broadband yet we only lost internet and Tues. 5.30pm whereas we didn't lose connection until 1am on Wednesday.

 

0 Kudos