Menu
Richard19761
Just joined
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

DDNS capability on the SuperHub

I am new to Virgin Media.  On my previous router, with my previous ISP, I used the DDNS function to remotely connect to my home CCTV and Intruder alarm systems.  I have set up the port forwarding part, but cannot find a mention of DDNS anywhere.....  I have Googled it, as you do these days, and read that the SuperHub does not support DDNS.......  If this is the case, what are my options......  I would imagine that a Static Public IP would be the best option, but surely this is a costly overkill for only remotely viewing home CCTV cameras and a security alarm App.....

Can someone advise........ Please.

Many thanks in advance.

Tags (3)
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: DDNS capability on the SuperHub

hiya @Richard19761 welcome to the virignmedia community forum, best idea to resolve all issues with port forwarding, DDNS etc.. is to put the superhub into modem mode and use a 3rd party router, my fellow superusers advise using a asus rt68 series, might be a bit pricy but well worth it.. since the current hub is just meant to get you online via wired/wireless any additional features require 3rd party hardware.

for putting hub into modem mode -> https://help.virginmedia.com/system/selfservice.controller?CMD=VIEW_ARTICLE&ARTICLE_ID=27555&CURRENT...
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
Superuser
Superuser
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

There are low cost and free DDNS services out there

Start at

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/DynamicDNS

for a list of services and a link to more. Ignore the fact its Ubuntu related, the same information applies.

0 Kudos
pcmanbob
Up to speed
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator