Menu
bellefarniente
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Constant disconnecting and buffering

Hey all,

Seen others with a mixture of these issues, but not a conclusive answer to both, so I figured I'd post up.

I joined Virgin (again) about two weeks ago, after suffering hell at the hands of Sky's fibre broadband. Day one of my 50mb fibre from Virgin was ace. But it's rapidly gone downhill ever since.

I am forever getting buffering on videos on all platforms (Facebook, YouTube, Netflix etc) over WiFi on all mobile devices, and the WiFi keeps dropping out, and then reconnecting. This latter part is every couple of minutes.

This is incredibly frustrating, and has led to me just using mobile data instead. I've used my entire 10gb allowance in three days...

I'm really not an expert when it comes to broadband (phones is another matter!), so any help or advice would be ace. Even if it's just getting an engineer out to fix it!
0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant disconnecting and buffering

Have you tested with a wired Ethernet connection to see if it is just happening with wireless? Wireless is easily disrupted by a number of external factors, so a wired test is best. It can also help to pinpoint if the issue is with the wireless or your line.

Are you seeing buffering all day or only at peak times (typically 4pm-11pm weekdays and weekends)? Some areas are suffering with over utilisation, which results in very slow speeds and buffering at peak times but full speed and no buffering at off peak times.