Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Joining in
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎07-01-2016
Message 1 of 5 (94 Views)

Compatible Switch for Super Hub

Just had a super hub installed.  My previous 8 port switch not working.  It worked with the previous hub.  Virgin not helpful at all.

Can anyone please advise on the switch specification which supports the super hub.

Thank you in advance.

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Hero
  • 9.53K
  • 300
  • 815
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 2 of 5 (132 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by ck2906
Monday

Re: Compatible Switch for Super Hub

[ Edited ]

Likely your 8 port switch is fine just that the new hub does not like it in router mode (their have been other posts about this) so best to get your own router and use modem mode.

What make and model is your 8 port switch?

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Reply
0 Kudos

All Replies
Hero
  • 9.53K
  • 300
  • 815
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 2 of 5 (133 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by ck2906
Monday

Re: Compatible Switch for Super Hub

[ Edited ]

Likely your 8 port switch is fine just that the new hub does not like it in router mode (their have been other posts about this) so best to get your own router and use modem mode.

What make and model is your 8 port switch?

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎07-01-2016
Message 3 of 5 (50 Views)

Re: Compatible Switch for Super Hub

Hi thank you for your reply.  The new switch is a TP-Link TL-SG198.

I've trying once again to get this working but as soon as the VM superhub connects with the switch the complete internet fails.The switch supports the Home security system, heating and music system.  Is it easy for me to change to modem mode or does it take a expert.

 

 

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Hero
  • 9.53K
  • 300
  • 815
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 4 of 5 (38 Views)

Re: Compatible Switch for Super Hub

[ Edited ]

ck2906 wrote:

Hi thank you for your reply.  The new switch is a TP-Link TL-SG198.

I've trying once again to get this working but as soon as the VM superhub connects with the switch the complete internet fails.The switch supports the Home security system, heating and music system.  Is it easy for me to change to modem mode or does it take a expert.

 


You still need a router for many devices to NAT your WAN IP

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/FTP-Port-Forwarding-on-a-Hub-3-0/m-p/343704...

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 10.82K
  • 231
  • 1.96K
Registered: ‎15-09-2009
Message 5 of 5 (26 Views)

Re: Compatible Switch for Super Hub


ck2906 wrote:

.... The new switch is a TP-Link TL-SG198.

How does this compare to SG108 which seems far more accessible to obtain in UK?
Regards Tony
"Life is a Binary Inspired Turing Computed Hologram"(don't PM or @Mention me - in case ignoring you offends)
Reply
0 Kudos