Menu
Reply
Tuning in
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎07-05-2016
Message 1 of 23 (1,985 Views)

Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

Hi,

I have recently joined Virgin Media and have received my self install pack. All set up easy enough but my MacBook could not connect to the Hub 3.0 through WiFi. It can connect through an ethernet cable but when I have set up an office in another home, this is not proving helpful. I have tried other devices, and while my Samsung phone will connect (although that did take a while), other apple devices will not. Have tried iPads, iPhones, etc but no connection.

An engineer came out today and could not see much of a problem as his device could connect (which was android) but as he could see my device could not, and after explaining other devices could not as well, he is arranging for an IT specialist to come to my house on Monday afternoon.

I am writing today just to enquire if anyone else has had similar problems with the SuperHub 3.0 so that I can see I am not the only one? If so, how did you deal with these problems or are they still occurring?

I can't say it's anything wrong with my device as it works perfectly, and can connect easily to other WiFi routers (including my parents, which is an old style Virgin Hub - possibly 2.0).

Thanks, Amanda

Reply
0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
  • 19.97K
  • 491
  • 3K
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 2 of 23 (1,979 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

"No connection" is a very broad description from which we, at a distance, can't glean much.

FYI, when my Hub is in router mode, my iPhone and iPad connect perfectly.

So, what essays or screen behaviour do you see?

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎07-05-2016
Message 3 of 23 (1,974 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

I go through the process of joining my wireless network, inputting the password, the WiFi symbol in the corner shows me that it is attempting to connect however a pop-up then comes up stating that the wireless network could not be joined. On the iPad it states connection failure.

Reply
0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
  • 19.97K
  • 491
  • 3K
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 4 of 23 (1,972 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

Whenever I get that, I turn wireless off and on on the Apple device.
Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎07-05-2016
Message 5 of 23 (1,970 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

I have done that multiple times to no avail. I have also restarted and fully shut down devices and restarted them to try again, same response.

I have also completed a number of resets on my Hub itself, including reverting back to factory settings. Again, to no avail.

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 12.06K
  • 1.56K
  • 3.48K
Registered: ‎22-06-2013
Message 6 of 23 (1,949 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.


kandiimyle wrote:

I have done that multiple times to no avail. I have also restarted and fully shut down devices and restarted them to try again, same response.

I have also completed a number of resets on my Hub itself, including reverting back to factory settings. Again, to no avail.


Tried changing the security mode to WPA2-PSK in the WiFi settings? link: http://192.168.0.1/?wifi_settings&mid=WirelessPrimary

- - - - - -
Any opinions expressed by myself are my own and do not represent Virgin Media in any way.
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.71K
  • 840
  • 1.95K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 7 of 23 (1,948 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

Very strange indeed. I have had no difficulty connecting iMac, iPad Air, iPad Mini and iPod touch to Superhub 3.

Have you separated the two wifi bands and tried to connect specifically to either the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz band?

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎07-05-2016
Message 8 of 23 (1,944 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

[ Edited ]

I have just tried this after your suggestion but still not making a difference. (Changing the security to WPA2-PSK)

How can you separate the two bands ? As when I spoke to the engineer about this (as my parents have an older hub that separates the two bands for you to connect to either), he stated that when the hub is connected, it chooses which band suits best.

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.71K
  • 840
  • 1.95K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 9 of 23 (1,929 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.71K
  • 840
  • 1.95K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 10 of 23 (1,927 Views)

Re: Can't Connect Apple Devices to Superhub 3.0.

... or clearer, it's Advance settings then Wireless then Security.

Reply
0 Kudos