Menu
Arthur2Sheds
Joining in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Can I trust the V6 firewall?

I'm new to Virgin media and have had their whole package installed a few e=weeks ago.

Colleagues of mine say that I should never trust the firewall settings on an ISP's ADSL home router and that I should have a self-managed internal firewall connected to a switch inside my home network for good security (to my personal wired and wireless devices). Or, replace the V6 device (if that's possible) with an alternate ADSL router.

Anyone got an opinion or, better still, experience of the configuration advised to me?

Answers appreciated in advance

Arthur 

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can I trust the V6 firewall?

virginmedia dont use ADSL ran via cable, the firewall on the hub is very basic at filtering always best to have a software firewall, or could buy a hardware firewall these are around £300+ only really used on businesses.. a lot of customer use a 3rd party router to increase wifi range have additional features like port forwarding, QoS etc..
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Arthur2Sheds
Joining in
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Hello paultechy, your swift response is much appreciated.  From your moniker your are very IT knowledgeable: can you answer this follow-on question?.

So, in order of Comms egress into my house does this set up sound right.  VM hub 3----> internal router/ (software firewall) ---> smart switch---> endpoint (Mac/Windows PCs), printer, iPad, NAS etc? Researching this provides several possible scenarios (clearly some confusing to baby techie level), and also some saying to buy and replace the VM hub!

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator