Menu
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
badkid
Joining in
169 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Broadband network dropping

Hey there, i`ll try to explain this from top to bottom so everyone can understand my situation.

By the end of September i got finally broadband in my home after waiting 1 month for the installation, i had issues with the network from day 1. I called like every 2 days to VM and all i got from them was "it`s an area fault, it will be fixed in the next couple of days, Just be patient". Same thing happened again and again and AGAIN !. After 1 month of stress and nerves somehow i managed to get an engineer appointment to come and have a look at the Hub, cause it keeps resetting. The engineer said "fixed" the issue, he said the signal was too low and hub couldn`t sustain a constant connection. Next day after the engineer solved the problem, hub keeps resetting.... AGAIN.The problem is my hub resets every 15-30 minutes by itself.

My question to Virgin Media is : is it worth calling again your Support line to fix my broadband properly or can i end the contract and find another provider ? Honestly i`m sick and tired of calling and receiving the same answer "it will be fixed until tomorrow".

I`ll post some screens here from the hub, in case someone from VM knows how to fix it.

 1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg

 

 

[MOD EDIT: Inappropriate Image removed (Contains your MAC address), please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
badkid
Joining in
117 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband network dropping

still waiting for a reply from Virgin Media Smiley Indifferent
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
badkid
Joining in
102 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband network dropping

So i had the engineer have a look at the broadband and he said "The fault is in the area, and fixed date will be 25 January 2017, and there is nothing he can do any more". Thank you VM for awesome suport !
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
80 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband network dropping

Hi badkid,

Firstly I'd like to extend a welcome to our Forum, glad you've joined us.

Apologies for the connection issues but I'm confident we can get this resolved for you. I've tested your connection thoroughly and here is what I've found:

  • The fault referenced by the engineer is not correct. That relates to a peak-time congestion issue which affects a different CMTS, your's is not impacted.
  • However fault ref: F004859919 is affecting you. This is for faults on the upstream segment - low SNR and/or FEC's (signal to noise ratio & forward error corrections) that recur intermittently. This is under investigation by our Network technicians and has a current estimated fix date for 22/11/2016. 

The latter fault will result in connectivity issues though I doubt it's severe enough to cause your Hub to reset.
Would you do me a favour please:

  1. Browse to your Hub's Interface pages (192.168.0.1)
  2. Don't log in, instead click on Router Status
  3. Under the Network Log tab you'll find the fault data relating to your Hub* - please copy this and paste on here.

I'd like to know if the errors your Hub reports have an correlation to the network errors I am seeing.

If not I'd like you to ensure that your Hub is using the power supply that was provided and that it is not plugged into an extension socket. If that doesn't help we may need to send you a replacement Hub so keep us updated Smiley Happy

*Alternatively you can log in to the Hub > Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Log.


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
badkid
Joining in
72 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband network dropping

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency(Hz)

Power
(dBmV)

SNR
(dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

323000000

2

38.9

256 qam

16

2

315000000

2

38.6

256 qam

15

3

307000000

2.2

38.9

256 qam

14

4

299000000

2.5

38.9

256 qam

13

5

291000000

2.7

38.6

256 qam

12

6

283000000

2.7

38.9

256 qam

11

7

275000000

2.7

38.9

256 qam

10

8

267000000

2.9

38.9

256 qam

9

9

259000000

3.2

38.9

256 qam

8

10

251000000

3.7

38.9

256 qam

7

11

243000000

4

38.9

256 qam

6

12

235000000

4.5

38.9

256 qam

5

13

227000000

4.9

38.9

256 qam

4

14

219000000

5

40.3

256 qam

3

15

211000000

5.1

38.9

256 qam

2

16

203000000

5.4

38.9

256 qam

1

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel ID

Frequency(Hz)

Mode

Power
(dBmV)

Modulation

Channel Bandwidth(Hz)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

6

24400000

ATDMA

38.3

64 qam

6400000

5120

5

31000000

ATDMA

38.3

64 qam

6400000

5120

 

 

2016-11-15 04:47:03.00

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;

2016-11-15 04:49:57.00

84000700

RCS Partial Service;

2016-11-15 04:50:01.00

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;

2016-11-15 05:40:33.00

84000700

RCS Partial Service;

2016-11-15 05:40:37.00

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;

2016-11-15 05:41:52.00

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;

2016-11-15 05:42:02.00

84000700

RCS Partial Service;

2016-11-15 05:42:09.00

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;

2016-11-15 05:48:05.00

84000700

RCS Partial Service;

2016-11-15 07:04:54.00

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;

2016-11-15 07:04:55.00

84000700

RCS Partial Service;

2016-11-15 07:12:14.00

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.88K
  • 120
  • 203
Forum Team (Retired) Adam_L
Forum Team (Retired)
51 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband network dropping

Hi badkid, 

Thanks for keeping us in the loop with regards to your broadband dropping connection to the network, I apologise for any troubles, I promise to do my very best in order to help get this resolved for you.

I have run some tests from my side, I can see that your Hubs logs show a lot of T3 time outs across the upstream channels, this will require one of our engineers to attend and investigate things further.

I will send you a PM (Purple envelope at the top) detailing what's required to proceed with making the booking. Please respond to me there and I'll get this sorted for you.

Take care, 

Thanks, 

Adam.


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply