Menu
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
Johnto87
Tuning in
109 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Broadband drop out area ref 14 (S62)

Good afternoon. For the last week or so, my broadband has been randomly dropping out for a few minutes at a time then becoming very slow when it comes back up.

I've recently been upgraded to the 'up to 200mbps' connection & it started a little after that was installed. Any help much appreciated.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
101 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drop out area ref 14 (S62)

If you go to http://192.168.100.1/ to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take up to a week) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
Johnto87
Tuning in
98 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drop out area ref 14 (S62)

Hi Scott.  Thanks for the quick reply!  Right everything should be copy / pasted below.

 

Cheers.

 

DOWNSTREAM

129900000012.937.6256 qam7
23230000001337.6256 qam10
33150000001237.3256 qam9
430700000013.137.6256 qam8
529100000012.537.6256 qam6
628300000013.438.6256 qam5
727500000012.837.6256 qam4
826700000012.537.6256 qam3
925900000013.338.6256 qam2
102510000001237.6256 qam1

 

UPSTREAM

4146200000ATDMA46.516 qam64000005120
4239400000ATDMA47.316 qam64000005120

 

NETWORK LOG

2016-10-16 07:46:54.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-18 09:52:47.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-20 21:52:02.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-22 03:53:30.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-25 08:48:58.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-26 05:47:48.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-30 15:44:12.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-31 15:18:26.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-31 17:01:06.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-10-31 20:37:51.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-02 09:47:08.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-02 09:48:31.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-02 18:35:19.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-02 18:35:42.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-04 05:10:55.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-05 03:09:07.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-08 16:44:36.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-09 09:55:06.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-10 13:56:49.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-11-12 18:39:59.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
95 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drop out area ref 14 (S62)

Your downstream power levels are too high, the recommended range is -6 to +10 and all of yours are above 10.

This will need an engineer visit to sort out the power levels. You can call VM and try to book a visit or wait for the VM staff to get to this thread (hopefully tomorrow) and they can help you book a visit.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
71 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drop out area ref 14 (S62)

Hi Johnto87,

 

Thanks for taking the time to post on the community.

 

My apologies that you are experiencing intermittent broadband connection.

 

From the stats you posted the downstream were showing as too high as Scott mentioned. I've just checked your line and the power levels are now at + 6 dBmV, which is much better. However there is an SNR (signal to noise ratio) fault in your area which is causing intermittent connection. The reference number is F004876623 and with a review date of 21st November.

 

I will check your connection again once the SNR fault has been resolved to make sure everything is ok.

Regards

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
40 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drop out area ref 14 (S62)

Evening Johnto87,

 

Just checking in to let you know that the SNR fault has now been closed down as resolved.

 

The downstream power levels have now settled down to 9 dBmV which is a little better than what they were. 

 

Have you noticed an improvement with the connection or are you still having the same issue?

 

Let me know how you get on

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
Johnto87
Tuning in
37 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drop out area ref 14 (S62)

Hi Samantha. Thanks for replying!

I do have a slight confession to make... I got one of the new routers not long before making this post. On the old router, there was a forward path attenuator... which I forgot to connect to the new router. Since putting that on, my connection has been fine 😅
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
34 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband drop out area ref 14 (S62)

Hey,

 

At least you found out what the issue is, that is the main thing.

 

I'm glad that the connection is now fine after you added the attenuator  Smiley Happy

 

Keep an eye on the power levels though just in case they get too high like before or if you notice any further issues, just let me know and I will check it over for you.

 

Take care

Sam

 


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply