Menu
Reply
Alessandro Volta
  • 19.67K
  • 470
  • 2.89K
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 91 of 112 (317 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

Fingers crossed there, then. For the record, your modem stats are fine. Please post them again when the new Hub arrives. It should be interesting to see how many downstream channels you then have. The SH1 is/was a total waste of time - a total fail.

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

Dialled in
  • 84
  • 0
  • 13
Registered: ‎27-03-2010
Message 92 of 112 (315 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

I will... don't know when it will be, but I will... and thank you again for the help, Ravenstar, too.
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 12.13K
  • 596
  • 3.87K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 93 of 112 (293 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

[ Edited ]

Here's hoping the new hub works better certainly keep us informed.

With regards to your other question, I can only answer based on the facts I have.  If that is truly your BQQM graph then the connection between the hub and the internet was sound, if you'd have had upstream problems there would still be packet loss visible, which there wasn't.

However, we know little about your network on the LAN side.  was it wired or wireless?

Tim

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Tuning in
  • 30
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎17-01-2011
Message 94 of 112 (278 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

[ Edited ]

I've been having the same kind of issue for the past week, making games unplayable online.

Lots of ping spikes/packet loss.

In area 20

Reply
0 Kudos
Dialled in
  • 84
  • 0
  • 13
Registered: ‎27-03-2010
Message 95 of 112 (232 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

[ Edited ]

Ridley... it helps to put your post code (first part)  I'm BS8. I think the knowledgeable ones here say the areas are too broad.

Ravenstar: Did you mean this info?   My PC is plugged into the router. I am not in modem mode.

My husband's laptop uses the wireless, but he does not use it daily. Also son uses wifi when popping over here using his Android phone. My printer/scanner is on the network.

screenie.png

Hero
  • 9.05K
  • 282
  • 765
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 96 of 112 (206 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency


Lewlew wrote:

Ravenstar: Did you mean this info?   My PC is plugged into the router. I am not in modem mode.

My husband's laptop uses the wireless, but he does not use it daily. Also son uses wifi when popping over here using his Android phone. My printer/scanner is on the network.

 


You could get your own router for modem mode.

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 30
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎17-01-2011
Message 97 of 112 (164 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

Area 20 Postcode ST2

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 12.13K
  • 596
  • 3.87K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 98 of 112 (153 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency


Lewlew wrote:

Ridley... it helps to put your post code (first part)  I'm BS8. I think the knowledgeable ones here say the areas are too broad.

Ravenstar: Did you mean this info?   My PC is plugged into the router. I am not in modem mode.

My husband's laptop uses the wireless, but he does not use it daily. Also son uses wifi when popping over here using his Android phone. My printer/scanner is on the network.

screenie.png


It the device is wired in then the fact that you lost connection is very odd, certainly, the Graph you posted didn't show 25 minutes worth of problems between the Hub and TBB so I'm inclined to think the problem was either on the LAN side, or possibly that Virgin was having trouble with their DNS servers.

HOWEVER because of the way some browsers do their reporting, I am always wary when they say "DNS lookup failed", as if they still believe, they have full network capability they report this instead of no internet for example.  So I would normally try running an IPconfig /all from command window at this point.

Tim

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Dialled in
  • 84
  • 0
  • 13
Registered: ‎27-03-2010
Message 99 of 112 (138 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

[ Edited ]

Did the config thing below per your suggestion, thank you.

 Here's a snapshot of my DNS setup.  

I did try using the Google DNS servers when this first started happening to see if they were more reliable than the VM ones. I had read a piece about BT users having this same issue and changing to Google's 8888.  It did not make any different to me to be honest. The second link says that it's more North America oriented?

https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/

http://apcmag.com/why-using-google-dns-opendns-is-a-bad-idea.htm/

 3.png

 

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.deployment.local:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : **:**:**:**:**:**-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : **:**:**:**:**:**-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:78cf:8b1:228:3f57:fffa(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8b1:228:3f57:fffa%15(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago
Message 100 of 112 (108 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

My PC is wired but I'm getting drops in latency on and off for over 2 weeks now.

 

My Broadband Ping - My Virgin
Reply
0 Kudos