Menu
Reply
Moderator
  • 3.85K
  • 88
  • 255
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 1 of 112 (1,114 Views)

BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

Hi all

We’ve seen a few posts recently within the community with BQM graphs showing an increase in latency which we’re looking into. Will keep you updated

Thanks,


The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


Dialled in
  • 83
  • 1
  • 7
Registered: ‎21-04-2015
Message 2 of 112 (977 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

Excellent stuff, Thank you

May the force be with you,

MOA.

HUB 2ac in modem mode, Netgear R7800 Router, a wee switch & NAS.

My Broadband Ping - MOA VM Monitor
Moderator
  • 3.85K
  • 88
  • 255
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 3 of 112 (965 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

Hi all

We don't have an answer yet as to what was happening but the latency showing in TBB graphs seems to have recovered this morning. We’ll continuing to monitor this and let you know of any updates


The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


Reply
0 Kudos
Up to speed
  • 122
  • 5
  • 9
Registered: ‎25-01-2015
Message 4 of 112 (891 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

It seem's to have come back again Smiley LOL Smiley LOL

Reply
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 55
  • 0
  • 8
Registered: ‎01-07-2016
Message 5 of 112 (875 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

[ Edited ]

Hello:

I would like to point out that the problem is not ONLY increased latency (and at times some packet loss) but also far far reduced speeds to and from various destinations on the internet which go through this point of congestion. Maybe you need a peering capacity upgrade at this junction. I suspect it has been nearing full capacity for some time and perhaps these episodes lately are just what happens when we pass the tipping point of funnelling all of Virgin Media's customers to certain locations on this path.

Up to speed
  • 239
  • 2
  • 7
Registered: ‎13-08-2009
Message 6 of 112 (873 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

[ Edited ]

Same here in Lincoln at 4pm.
just before 4pm, got kicked for my SSH connection to my VPS In London in the 4D-DC and connection timed out at the same time via the browser to the server, but came back.

a1a0460acac85e2ea6f1b7baf1c9053b

_____________________

_____________________
Regards
Gaz
Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 359
  • 15
  • 77
Registered: ‎08-09-2015
Message 7 of 112 (866 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

[ Edited ]

 

7d802316dd28f68ad3ae28412f7532fe-06-03-2017

 

Sort it out Virgin Media !!!!!!!

(p.s. My speeds are perfect though)

 




Running ASUS RT-AC88U with Asuswrt-Merlin firmware
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎10-08-2014
Message 8 of 112 (864 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

Seeing this in Sheffield (Area 14) since Friday night too. 1600 to roughly 0100 every night.Glad to see this post, was about to start dismantling my network when I got home Smiley Very Happy

On our wavelength
  • 55
  • 0
  • 8
Registered: ‎01-07-2016
Message 9 of 112 (857 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

@pyrotenax: Check your speed from thinkbroadband's tester. Or download a test file from here which is out of a datacentre behind the affected congestion point: http://185.38.46.4/1000MB.test (that's Backupsy in London)
Up to speed
  • 239
  • 2
  • 7
Registered: ‎13-08-2009
Message 10 of 112 (849 Views)

Re: BQM graphs showing an increase in latency

[ Edited ]

NoResyncsPlease wrote:
@pyrotenax: Check your speed from thinkbroadband's tester. Or download a test file from here which is out of a datacentre behind the affected congestion point: http://185.38.46.4/1000MB.test (that's Backupsy in London)

That is bad, am getting 2.2MB via Firefox.
Seems like my VPS is in the same datacentre as Backupsy is for London.

_____________________

_____________________
Regards
Gaz
Reply
0 Kudos