Menu
Irving
Tuning in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

2.4GHz wifi loses connection to the internet

This becoming an increasing frustrating problem.  For the record I am an experienced IT Consultant and a radio engineer in days past, so I like to think I know something about the subject!

For the last couple of weeks, intermittently but becoming increasingly more frequent, my SuperHub 2 seems to internally lose the connection between the 2.4GHz wifi and the Internet.

A few facts:

SuperHub is in my study on 1st floor, away from any other equipment.  When 2.4GHz wifi is active I'm getting -35dBm on phone (Wifi Analyser app) in study and -65 to -70dBm in other rooms on same floor and in 2nd floor master bedroom..  A range extender gives me -70dBm or better on ground floor.

100Mbps WAN connection, seems solid enough, no downtime since upgrade from 50M on 4th Jan.

Main PC and 2 Raspberry PIs in study are hardwired, no issues.

5GHz is unaffected and rock solid (so far).  On my smartphone Speedtest gives me between 90 and 105Mbps when adjacent to hub and typically 80Mbps on 2nd floor, both give 6Mbps uplink.

On 2.4GHz wifi, even adjacent to hub, Speedtest 'only' gives me typically 35-40Mbps and occasionally as low as 2Mbps whereas I used to get typically 53Mbps when I was on 50M service, so go figure Smiley Surprised I do get 6Mbps uplink.

I have around 9 devices on 2.4GHz wifi, all experience same problem simultaneously so its NOT a device problem.

There is no interference from neighbours wifi, they all sit on channel 1 or 11, I'm on channel 6 and nothing else appears there.

A spectrum scanner confirms there are no other high-level non-wifi signals that could be interfering.

The problem