Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
Making Waves
Thestarflyer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-11-2011

iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

I decided I wanted an iPhone 4S with virgin mobile in the UK (my current provider) so bought an unlocked iPhone. Since I have Virgin media at home it's one of the best sim only deals for a combination of minutes and web. (Also now you can use Orange reception has improved greatly)

 

I cut my sim to micro size (hint get a free micro sim from somewhere like giffgaff as a guide)

1st time I cut it with scissors but it is more accurate to use a good sharp kitchen knife on a chopping board, line it up and hit down on the knife with something like a rolling pin (not too hard) and it slices through the sim (test it on an old or free sim 1st if you are unsure)

 

Here’s the bit that’s important: Sims come in all sorts of shapes and sizes.  The original Virgin sim I had was several years old and the gold metal bit was about 11mm wide and (sort of) had 5 columns of different sections. My iPhone worked (including Wi-Fi) but the mobile internet didn't.

 

I'd heard that sims had changed and rang Virgin to ask for a new sim.  The guy told me it definitely would Not work and charged me £5 for a new sim but sent it (several days later the new sim arrived (unfortunately the old one stops working when they dispatch it).  I later rang cancellations and got my £5 refunded.

 

On this new Sim the gold metal part is only about 9mm wide and (sort of) has 3 columns.  I chopped this down to size and now everything works including my voicemail.

 

I wish Virgin would give correct info to their staff

 

Ps. To Sync with iTunes I had to turn off my Zone alarm

Please use plain text.
Boffin
greybeard
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎24-02-2010

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

Good info. I wish VM would start issuing micro sims though as I am in the market for a new phone and it is limiting my choice because I don't fancy cutting the sim.
Please use plain text.
Super-Solver
Trickiejohn
Posts: 2,962
Registered: ‎27-02-2011

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

You can pick up a cheap sim cutter from ebay that also has a carrier if you nedd to use the sim in a full size slot at a later date


From Sunny Glasgow
if you want to say thanks click 'kudos' and if this has answered your question click 'helpful answer'
Please use plain text.
Proof’s in the Pudding
Keato
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎16-10-2011

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

Yeah @Thestarflyer, i think it was very daft of you to use scissors or a kitchen knife.

The Sim cutters (cheap on ebay) are way more accurate than any knife or scissors.

Also, we already know Virgin Mobile Sims work in the iPhone because there have been quite a few posts about it on Virgin :smileyhappy:

The guy on the phone probs told you it 'definitely would not work' because Virgin don't offer the iPhone in the UK so the phone staff wouldn't know if it would work or not. Though I guess they could at least send round a memo round the VM staff saying that it does work lol

Plus, there is no reason voicemail wouldn't work. Its just a button in the 'Phone' app that routes you to voicemail.

But yeah I'm all for Virgin getting the iPhone 4S because then they wouldn't have their customers resorting to cutting down their sims to stay loyal to the company.



@greybeard, cutting the sim is so easy. I bought a Noosy SIm cutter from Ebay for like £8 and now my friends are wanting to use it. Might even charge em £1 each friend lol, make my money back :smileyvery-happy:

But yeah Virgin issuing micro SIMS would be a good move for the company.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Want to say thanks? click 'Kudos'

Did this answer your question? Click 'Helpful answer' :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
Specialist
Tudor
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎30-07-2010

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

Just go to your local phone shop. Mine cut the Sim down for nothing.
Please use plain text.
Super-Solver
Trickiejohn
Posts: 2,962
Registered: ‎27-02-2011

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

Great Post Tudor :smileyhappy:


From Sunny Glasgow
if you want to say thanks click 'kudos' and if this has answered your question click 'helpful answer'
Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Chully01
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎22-11-2011

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

Hi I have been told by virgin staff help line that possibly Xmas 2011 they will have sims for iPhone 4 which will also solve the problem with th APN settings which should auto download when configured, so you can connect to the net etc. however I found a quick fix for iPhone 3GS and 4s on YouTube for APN, the site is unlock it and all you do is select country and network and create profile and download over wifi on your phone. And great it works hope this helps..
Please use plain text.
Brainbox
Sallie_S
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎19-08-2011

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

Hi, just to let you know that the Micro SIM will be coming to Virgin and is road mapped for 2012. I'm afraid it won't be available for Christmas 2011 :smileysad:

 

 

Sallie Sharp
eCare Coordinator and Forum Support


If you ever need Virgin internet/picture message settings for your mobile, charges for using your phone abroad or general help, please check out Virgin Mobile's 'How do I?' section

If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords.

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question. Please don't send private messages directly to the forum team unless they ask you to, post your issue to the forum first.
Please use plain text.
bs1
Brainbox
bs1
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎30-11-2011

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

well if i decide to get an iphone 4s and virgin dont have a micro sim card for it i will be going to another provider

Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
jbizzle
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎15-01-2012

Re: iPhone 4S does work on Virgin Mobile UK

Just so people know...

 

If you do get a SIM and cut it down it's a case that you do this at your own risk.

If for any reason it doesn't work or you mess it up and need a replacement SIM, you would be required to pay £5 for a replacement (if you want to keep your own number of course as Virgin cannot do internal port ins)

 

@Thestarflyer - the reason your SIM deactivated is because your details can only be on one SIM card at any one time. It is unfortunate in this instance, but if the SIM was lost or stolen and you needed a replacement I'm sure you'd prefer the SIM card to be completely inoperable (not just suspended) as soon as possible.

 

With regards to the phone working and settings (MMS, Web etc.) iPhones can work using your Virgin SIM but Virgin cannot guarantee this or that all services will work as it's an unsupported phone.

 

If you need assistance getting the phone up and running the customer service guys wouldn't be able to help as it is not a phone that Virgin UK have and support. Your best bet would be Online Forums or Apple stores etc. or for manual settings details (instructions not provided) you can get the details by looking at the self support section on the virginmobile.co.uk website, and looking for manual settings for something similar like the an HTC or the Galaxy S for example. Please bear in mind it isn't the agents fault that they cant help with iPhone issues!


To be honest when the iPhone is introduced to Virgin Mobile UK, i'm sure there will be a big fan fare and will be in the press or on the website and will be a better port of call than asking the staff. I know for years they have been getting it 'hopefully soon' but press or webste will be best clue. With micro-sims being introduced hopefuly that may open the door! 

 

Oh, but yes you would need a newer style SIM for modern phones!

In this instance they really shouldn't have charged you the £5 as you'd have needed a new SIM even if you had a smart phone from Virgin directly. (It's do do with where on the SIM the settings are saved and where the phone reads the information from).

Please use plain text.