Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Fresh as a Daisy
cagedgimp

Network Problem?

[ Edited ]

Is anybody having any problems with the network?  My fiance and I are both on Virgin Mobile and are both experiencing the same problem.  Data does not seem to be a problem as Facebook, Twitter, Email etc.are all working fine but we cannot receive/make any calls/texts.

Is there any way to check the network status in the area?  We are both in Plymouth PL3 & PL7

Many thanks

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
Krystal_E

Re: Network Problem?

[ Edited ]

Hi cagedgimp,

Sorry to hear you're having issues with your signal. Currently, we're seen an increase in the number of signal issues reported around the Plymouth area.

There's a few things we can check to rule out other potential causes. From your post, you mention both you and your fiance are having the same issue.

How far are the locations in PL3 and PL7 from each other? If they're roughly 5-10 miles from each other, they may be connecting to the same mast. Have you been able to try the phones outside of the Plymouth area to rule this out?

Firstly, please try taking the battery out of the handset whilst the phone is turned on (or on and off if no removable battery), remove the sim card and wait 30 seconds before putting the phone back together and switching back on. This will refresh the connection to the network and elevated any temporary software glitches.

Next, please try switching between Virgin (T-Mobile) and virgin (Orange) and between 2g and 3g on both networks to identify a culprit. This can also help you use the handset whilst we're looking to the issue.

As you're having the same network issue with 2 handsets, this would rule out the sim and phone. Please give our team a call on 789 (if the Virgin sim works outside the area) or 0845 6000 789 and we'll be able to diagnose further and collect examples where necessary. Our Technical team are open Mon-Sun 8am-8pm.

Many thanks.