on 07-07-2011 14:16
Hi can anyone help me please as this issue is really confusing me.
I have arranged an installation for Virgin to put in a phone line next week (I already have Broadband with them). When I first agreed the deal over the phone no mention was made of keeping my original BT phone number so I just assumed this was done as a matter of course.
Since then I have rung Virgin back and they have said that I need to ring BT to cancel my account with them and AFTER the installation I should ring them (Virgin) to swap the phone numbers over.
However when I spoke to BT they said that if I cancel with them the phone number will be lost and Virgin will not be able to take it.
Who is right here?
What should I do?
on 07-07-2011 14:44
Apologies for the incorrect advice from our end.
You do need to keep the line active with BT.
We can only port a number that is active.
If the line is cancelled, the number is recycled and eventually re-issed to another customer.
If you could call up, again, our Customer Service team should fully understand your (simple) request.
If you could send me a Private Message to me with your address details, I will note your account to stop any further confusion.