Fresh as a Daisy
IngridForde

Answering machine does not work

Hi

I recently bought a new phone with integral answering machine.  The phone rings and we are able to make calls, however the answering machine does not work.  We've swapped the phone for three times in the last month - the last time for a different model BT Synergy 6500.  The answering machine still doesn't work.  We took the phone to our neighbours who plugged it in and say they can leave messages no problem.

Virgin say we don't have the Virgin answering machine switched on and they've have been out and tested the line but cannot find a fault.  Customer Services say that my phone is not compatible with Virgin phone line....  I am out of patience - please can you help?

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
Tbgbe

Re: Answering machine does not work

Does the phone continue ringing if you don't answer an incoming call?

Make sure you do NOT have Virgin Answer Machine active on your line as this may activate before your device.

Also check through this Synergy 6500 Answer Machine Help

TVXL(V+), BB10Mb, Ph(M)
Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
IngridForde

Thanks for coming back so quickly.

Yes the phone rings several times before the integral machine picks up.  It starts asking you to leave a message but then just stops and cuts you off.

I definitely do not have the Virgin voice-mail, Virgin confirmed this to me earlier.

I've looked in the brochure and spoken to BT but they maintain there's something wrong with my line.  Is it possible that the phone just isn't compatible with the Virgin network?

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
Tbgbe

IngridForde wrote: 

Yes the phone rings several times before the integral machine picks up.  It starts asking you to leave a message but then just stops and cuts you off.

OK. That is the important info :smileyhappy:

I can only think of three reasons why the answer machine would disconnect like that:-