Menu
Reply
  • 101
  • 0
  • 10
francisuk1989
Dialled in
255 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 50% pocket loss 19/05/2016

Today im having problems with call of duty black ops 3 particular , Ill try and explain the best i can about this 50% pocket loss.

Today i run PingPlotter to see what coursing the lag and i found out on the route to where the Microsoft servers a located for Halo/Black Ops 3 i see that tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 node has a 50% pocket loss.


VIVID 100, Hub 3.0
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
  • 9.73K
  • 313
  • 838
legacy1
Hero
239 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 50% pocket loss 19/05/2016


francisuk1989 wrote:

 i see that tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 node has a 50% pocket loss.

 


Yes you do but lets think about this for a minute... because your not the only one.

So this is a tracert or a tracert that then pings what Ips are in the tracert in any case you want the short answer to why 50% is show at tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 but the most interesting thing is why no packet loss after that hop? Because you would think if the problem is at tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 that packets are drop in getting to the next hop but it doesn't so there are two reasons for this the most said is tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 does not want to reply that much or a ping rate limit for it to reply but note this is not the same as a ping thats being routed through tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 and not direct to tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 because you don't what to go to tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 you want to go through it. The other reason all be it not important is if PingPlotter does a tracert that then pings the IPs directly so you might be thinking what the different between a tracert ping and a tracert that then pings the IPs directly? Well a tracert ping sends a ping with limited TTL or number of hops you must reach the intended target as in which it fails if the TTL is low and may get a relpy of the hop it couldn't forward it and so on but a tracert that then pings does the tracert ping then it pings them IP's directly but because that is not your intended target it may router your differently then what your intended target is.

 

 

0 Kudos
  • 12.91K
  • 366
  • 1.04K
Moderator
Moderator
211 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 50% pocket loss 19/05/2016

Hi francisuk1989,

Just thought I'd pop by to add to legacy1's observations, in that I've run a few checks on your Hub and network segment from this end and all checks out okay, no apparent issues or faults to cause any latency or ping problems.

One other thought, how are you connecting, wired or wireless? Ping and lag spikes are likely to more of an issue when connecting via wireless.

Cheers

Ralph_R
Forum Moderator

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
  • 101
  • 0
  • 10
francisuk1989
Dialled in
190 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 50% pocket loss 19/05/2016

Thanks for that info legacy1 and Ralph_R for checking the UBR

Ralph_R - All my devices are Wired, The superhub 2ac is in modem mode with an mikrotik rb2011(forget the rest of the model number) Mainly my Xbox One/Android Tablet/PS4 however the PS4 isn't connected as i tend to disconnect the LAN cable if not in-use as it tends to like downloading things automatic (No WiFi has been setup on the PS4 and Xbox One itself)

I have also tested an D-Link DIR-615 what Virgin Media did supply but again i was still having the doggy routing pocket loss issues.however whenever avoid the tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 route i have no routed pocket loss like playing Battlefield 4

Battlefield 4 Xbox One random IP sever

C:\Users\HP>tracert 162.13.35.150

Tracing route to 162.13.35.150 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms MikroTik [192.168.3.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 23 ms 13 ms 10 ms brnt-core-2a-xe-021-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.2.137.101]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 13 ms 10 ms 8 ms brnt-bb-1c-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.102]
6 17 ms 9 ms 12 ms m686-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net [62.254.42.174]
7 30 ms 16 ms 11 ms 213.46.174.118
8 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms ldn-bb3-link.telia.net [62.115.140.214]
9 11 ms 10 ms 11 ms ldn-b1-link.telia.net [62.115.141.137]
10 9 ms 11 ms 10 ms rackspace-ic-305654-ldn-b1.c.telia.net [62.115.41.54]
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 22 ms 22 ms 25 ms 134.213.131.255
13 22 ms 14 ms 15 ms cored-core9.lon5.rackspace.net [162.13.232.3]
14 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms core9-aggr512b-7.lon5.rackspace.net [162.13.232.229]
15 19 ms 12 ms 14 ms 162.13.35.150


VIVID 100, Hub 3.0
0 Kudos
  • 12.91K
  • 366
  • 1.04K
Moderator
Moderator
169 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 50% pocket loss 19/05/2016

Have you been able to test directly from the Hub to console, just to rule out any router issue?

I can see what you're saying about the packet loss on the tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0, though ICMP packets used in the trace don't give a great indication of problems as they're deemed low priority.

What does the full trace look like when tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 is present in the routing?

Thanks

Ralph_R
Forum Moderator

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
  • 101
  • 0
  • 10
francisuk1989
Dialled in
151 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 50% pocket loss 19/05/2016

I know where your coming from Ralph_R, It might just be low priority, if this is then i have learned something new Smiley Happy

14:56

C:\Users\HP>tracert 13.69.186.24

Tracing route to 13.69.186.24 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms MikroTik [192.168.3.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 8 ms 10 ms 9 ms brnt-core-2a-xe-031-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.2.137.105]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 12 ms 25 ms 21 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.210]
7 * * 16 ms tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.250.15.210]
8 20 ms 18 ms 17 ms m322-mp2.cvx3-a.ltn.dial.ntli.net [213.104.85.66]
9 29 ms 29 ms 29 ms be-72-0.ibr02.lts.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.9.154]
10 24 ms 33 ms 25 ms be-3-0.ibr02.dub30.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.5.4]
11 31 ms 22 ms 25 ms ae11-0.db5-96cbe-1b.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.9.9]

7 hop is not always giving theses * * * sometimes it will, sometimes it wont so might just be a false indication to pocket loss?


VIVID 100, Hub 3.0
0 Kudos
  • 9.73K
  • 313
  • 838
legacy1
Hero
144 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 50% pocket loss 19/05/2016

So you didn't read my post...

0 Kudos
  • 101
  • 0
  • 10
francisuk1989
Dialled in
141 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: tcl5-ic-2-ae0-0 50% pocket loss 19/05/2016

Course i did Smiley Happy

VIVID 100, Hub 3.0
0 Kudos