Menu
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
stingo
Joining in
276 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

issue connecting Blizzard Games

Hi,

For a couple of months I am having problems of freezes and disconnections playing blizzard games (D3, HOTS and Overwatch).

I am the owner of a gaming network (200mb).

after stressing blizzard for 2 months thinking the problem was them. we discover that the issue is that the routing loses packages from virgin network to their servers.

Essentially running a winMTR:
I connect pretty well to virgin network.
the packages bounce between virgin routers and then they get lost.

Same story with the blizzard tool.

We checked all possible issues on my pc and on the processes that are running on my pc and everything looks fine.

I just freeze/crash 3 times per night.

I called your support that, a part being very rude, doesnt do anything more than pinging google(...).

Is there a chance of talking with someone with some knowledge on networking?

resuming:

Issue: packets are lost in the routing to France (blizzard servers).
no issue on the pc
no issue on blizzard servers
the routing shows the packages get lost on going out Virgin Network
The error is not reproducible, it happens random 2, 3 times per night (sometimes more, some times less, sometimes it doesn't)
essentially I have a very fast network for gaming that works for everything except gaming(?)

thanks for the answers

EDIT: typos
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.23K
  • 511
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
256 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

Post your trace-route to Blizzard and a copy of the reverse trace from Blizzard to you.

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
stingo
Joining in
244 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.0.1 - 1 | 7507 | 7481 | 1 | 60 | 2956 | 4 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
|sotn-core-2a-xe-111-0.network.virginmedia.net - 1 | 7536 | 7518 | 10 | 118 | 2312 | 19 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| ams2-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net - 1 | 7511 | 7488 | 35 | 154 | 2844 | 46 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1526 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1528 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1526 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1528 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1526 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1527 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1525 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1525 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1530 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1525 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1525 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1525 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1525 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1525 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1526 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1526 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1524 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Destination network unreachable. - 100 | 1527 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

this is winMTR

 

also I took a blizzard looking glass but on a different moment

PING:
PING 82.3.209.105 (82.3.209.105) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 82.3.209.105 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 5000ms

 

27/11/2016 18:37:44 UTC
--------------------

TRACEROUTE:
traceroute to 82.3.209.105 (82.3.209.105), 15 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 Blizzard (Blizzard) 0.583 ms 0.632 ms 0.812 ms
2 * * *
3 37.244.9.102 (37.244.9.102) 0.853 ms 0.935 ms 1.020 ms
4 24.105.31.54 (24.105.31.54) 10.613 ms 10.662 ms 10.712 ms
5 37.244.10.34 (37.244.10.34) 10.598 ms 10.661 ms 10.723 ms
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *


27/11/2016 18:37:44 UTC
--------------------

MTR:
HOST: Blizzard Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
1. Blizzard 0.0% 10 0.6 0.5 0.4 0.6 0.0
2. ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
3. 37.244.9.102 0.0% 10 2.0 0.9 0.8 2.0 0.4
4. 24.105.31.54 0.0% 10 10.5 10.5 10.4 10.7 0.1
5. 37.244.10.34 0.0% 10 10.7 11.0 10.6 12.0 0.5
6. ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0


27/11/2016 18:37:44 UTC
--------------------

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.23K
  • 511
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
229 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

Your packet loss looks to be "reading" either 0% or 100%

The hops that show 100% are just configured to discard ICMP packets, obviously the 0% ones are fine.

We can check further if your connection shows any packet loss WAN side...

Set up a BQM

HERE

 Run it for say 24 hrs, and post the result.

 Dont forget youll need to make sure your super hub is configured to reply to ICMP echo requests...

 

 

 

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
stingo
Joining in
219 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

my interface looks completely different from that,

 

I will try to find out how to enable

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
stingo
Joining in
206 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

as a new side effect is a few days I need to reset daily the router as the ping on the online games is just stupidly high.

 

I reset the router one hour ago and still it is more than 300. It lags also in Diablo3 that is actually so basic as a game that I am ashamed of how bad it runs in this moment.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.23K
  • 511
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
186 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

You are showing packet loss on that BQM, so Ill get staff to take a look at your connection.

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
stingo
Joining in
185 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

this is the first night,

 

the test is still on

 

virg1.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
stingo
Joining in
175 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

My Broadband Ping - Virgin
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.23K
  • 511
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
149 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: issue connecting Blizzard Games

Okay this is getting confusing...

@stingo Your BQM is not showing any packet loss at all, which fits with your traceroutes.

@Andy11 Im going to split your posts out to a separate thread and re-escalate it for you as you ARE showing packet loss..

Hold tight whilst I break the board...

 


0 Kudos
Reply