Menu
Reply
Tuning in
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2014
Message 1 of 6 (164 Views)

Vivid 100 terrible connection (again)

Hello,

This is not the first time I have complained about this issue.

Look at the state of this graph.



Ping spikes, High packet loss.

This is completely unacceptable. Gaming is pretty much impossible, as is VOIP.

No issues reported on the Status pages. (Do Virgin think that no one will notice stuff like this?)

I want my old Hub 2ac back! Service was far more stable with that unit than the 3.0 has ever been.

Will update this post with the power levels etc later when I am at home. Router is in modem mode.

Rant end note.

I am really at the end of my rope with Virgin Media.  This is not the first time I have complained about this issue.  With Virgin now wanting to raise my monthly bill by a further £3.99 for a service that has been steadily getting worse I am considering taking a massive bandwidth drop to go to a FTTC service that will at least rid me of constant packet loss issues.  I am on my 3rd account due to terrible customer service loosing my details and therefore my landline number twice during a house move, I am on my 3rd router because they "upgraded" me to HH3 which is frankly garbage, seemingly weekly faults and down time and every quarter the spikes and packet loss get so bad that my service is all but useless for what it is used for about 75% of the time.

Not fit for purpose. 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2014
Message 2 of 6 (117 Views)

Re: Vivid 100 terrible connection (again)

[ Edited ]

No change after a full weekend. Power levels on the hub are perfectly fine, no faults reported in the area.

virgin.png

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/29adf4d95a8d163b3712c75777d1a2e7c065d10a-14-08-2017

 

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2014
Message 3 of 6 (83 Views)

Re: Vivid 100 terrible connection (again)

virgin.png

 Tuesday. packet loss still at 10%.

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 12
  • 1
  • 1
Registered: 2 weeks ago
Message 4 of 6 (66 Views)

Re: Vivid 100 terrible connection (again)

The mods take about a week to reply to threads and they go by oldest first.

Frankly the hub 3 is rubbish so I just got my own router and chucked the hub in modem mode which resolved my connectivity issues but I didn't suffer from packet loss at all, latency is still there but I seem to be lucky as gaming has been fine.

There is a large thread about the Puma 6 chipset here which highlights a major flaw in the chip (latency and packet loss) but unfortunately there is no confirmation from VM when a firmware update would be released.  

---

Hub 3 user in modem mode with the Asus RT-A66U B1 running the Merlin firmware
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2014
Message 5 of 6 (57 Views)

Re: Vivid 100 terrible connection (again)

yep I am aware of the PUMA 6 fiasco but I have not been experiencing this level of packet loss consistently. It comes in waves which is down to external problems with VMs network (this was the explanation the last time).  The yellow spikes on the BQM are most likely the Hub 3 issue but generally I can live with them most of the time (nearly always present but not that close together).  The packet loss at +-10% however, makes gaming, VOIP and remote access to my office very challenging and sometime next to impossible.

Interestingly, you are running the same setup as me minus Merlin firmware. I am using ASUS vanilla firmware currently.

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: 2 weeks ago
Message 6 of 6 (35 Views)

Re: Vivid 100 terrible connection (again)

damn at 10:30am on tuesday you could nearly play a game for 5 minutes

Reply
0 Kudos