Menu
Mike_Smith
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 2ac - New Installation - Staff Help?

Hi,

I'm a new Virgin Media customer due to have my installation on the 24th February with the Vivid 200mb broadband package + TV & Phone.

I read yesterday about the Puma 6 firmware bug affecting the SuperHub 3 devices: http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Gaming-Support/Hub-3-Compal-CH7465-LG-TG2492LG-and-CGNV4-Latency...

I'm a software developer and I spend most of my day SSHing into servers and writing code via VIM on the command line. 250ms ping spikes with jitter and potential packet loss are going to be the most annoying interruption imaginable and will make my internet connection near useless to me.

I called the PreInstallation team to try and get a SuperHub 2ac device instead of a SuperHub 3.0 but after 45 minutes getting Rick Rolled by Never Going to Give You Up (an inspired song choice for a customer service line) was told I'd have to downgrade to the 50mb package to get a 2ac (not a problem - I can always upgrade later) AND pay £77 a month for my revised package instead of the £55 I've signed up for. That's obviously unacceptable.

Can a member of forum staff help me arrange a SuperHub 2ac with my new installation - or at least help me fix the ridiculous pricing policy you've got in place so I don't have to pay more for a lower speed service?

Thanks,

Mike

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac - New Installation - Staff Help?

i think? the info you have been given is wrong - afaik all new installs now come with a hub3 - the faults are overstated in some part - some have little if no problem - have not followed the who saga but you have the further choice of the hub 3 in modem mode with your own router and if you want/need all 'normal' router functions thats the best choice as the firmware on all VM hubs bears no resemblance to 'normal'