Menu
Reply
On our wavelength
  • 29
  • 0
  • 51
Registered: ‎02-12-2016
Message 481 of 557 (690 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

Nope, not a chance.  Perhaps VM has incorporated the update to resolve the IPV4 ICMP latency, which was released to the Rogers Puma 6MG CGN3ACSMR modem last October.  The one way to determine that is to run a trace to some address such as the BBC, then use the IP address after your modem as a target to ping.  Ping that address for 24 hours to see the changes that occur during the day.  That will tell you if there has been a positive change in the firmware version.  You can use something like Pingplotter or HRPing to run the ping test.  Pingplotter will run in pro mode for 14 days before it kicks down into freebie mode if you don't buy a standard or pro licence.  HRPing is free for use.  You would have to invoke the graphics capability to plot the results.  Its not as advanced as Pingplotter, in terms of graphing, but it works. 

Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 286
  • 6
  • 45
Registered: ‎22-06-2012
Message 482 of 557 (689 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

[ Edited ]

eddiechatburn wrote:

Certainly not had a firmware update, but it would appear something has happened this morning.

Hub 3 has lost connection - not even rebooted according to the uptime in the log, and the ping latency seems to have all but disappeared!!

 

My Broadband Ping - Home

Is anyone else seeing this?

 

I know we had an engineer from outside our area visit recently, and he advised our area had had considerable work don on the cabs, and it would take until the 20th for them to settle down, but I must admit I wasn't expecting this!

Could it be that the fault was never the Hub 3.0 but VM's own routing?

 


Out of interest, how many DS Channels are you running on? I had a semi clean looking TBB graph when I was on 8 channels and only when I moved to 16 did it get bad. So wonder if you've maybe gone the other way?

and also.... just be sure. What hub 3 version number are you on?

On our wavelength
  • 29
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎21-04-2011
Message 483 of 557 (674 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

Hub 3 Version 10. Firmware still 9.1.116V.

Well, that was short lived. You were right, just checked and it would appear I now have only 1 channel down and 1 up.

Will have to look into it further when I get home this evening.

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.66K
  • 319
  • 2.1K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 484 of 557 (674 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause


eddiechatburn wrote:

Certainly not had a firmware update, but it would appear something has happened this morning.

Hub 3 has lost connection - not even rebooted according to the uptime in the log, and the ping latency seems to have all but disappeared!!

Looks like you're in partial service mode on 1 downstream channel.

My Broadband Ping - Home

Is anyone else seeing this?

If you reboot, you may get your full channel set back and the BQM graph change again, but in reverse, like this:

 

I know we had an engineer from outside our area visit recently, and he advised our area had had considerable work don on the cabs, and it would take until the 20th for them to settle down, but I must admit I wasn't expecting this!

Cabs and infrastructure in general don't need time to "settle". That sounds like a BS excuse for an on-going fault.

Could it be that the fault was never the Hub 3.0 but VM's own routing?

Not a chance. 


 

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.66K
  • 319
  • 2.1K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 485 of 557 (670 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

[ Edited ]

eddiechatburn wrote:

Hub 3 Version 10. Firmware still 9.1.116V.

Well, that was short lived. You were right, just checked and it would appear I now have only 1 channel down and 1 up.

Will have to look into it further when I get home this evening.

What is partial service mode: https://volpefirm.com/docsis-3-0-partial-service/

It's a temporary recovery mode caused when some of the downstream channels have become so bad that they're not usable anymore. Happens on all Docsis hubs.

Reply
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 29
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎21-04-2011
Message 486 of 557 (669 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

Already rebooted to see if it was a fluke, still only 1 channel each.

Smiley Sad

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.66K
  • 319
  • 2.1K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 487 of 557 (666 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause


eddiechatburn wrote:

Already rebooted to see if it was a fluke, still only 1 channel each.

Smiley Sad

There may only be 1 downstream channel in working order available at the moment, so until the others come back rebooting may not have any effect.

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 488 of 557 (643 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

As I understand it, a third-party purchased one won't work.

 

Can anybody report successfully getting a 2ac posted out recently and what did they say/who did they speak to?

Reply
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 29
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎21-04-2011
Message 489 of 557 (629 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

[ Edited ]

Yup, excitement definitely passed. 'Quick' phone call to Virgin, signal sent and router now correctly locked on with 20 downstream channels and 2 up.

Back to it's delightful jittery self!

Smiley Happy

 

Thanks MUD_Wizard

Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 286
  • 6
  • 45
Registered: ‎22-06-2012
Message 490 of 557 (617 Views)

Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause


eddiechatburn wrote:

Yup, excitement definitely passed. 'Quick' phone call to Virgin, signal sent and router now correctly locked on with 20 downstream channels and 2 up.

Back to it's delightful jittery self!

Smiley Happy

 

Thanks MUD_Wizard


Was going to say this once happened to me and they had to resend an activation. Why it happened I couldn't say... 

So... back to the waiting game we go Smiley LOL