Menu
Reply
Tuning in
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-07-2017
Message 1 of 15 (396 Views)

How to put PS4 in DMZ?

Hi,

I have the the Hub 3.0 and like to know what is the correct procedure to put PS4 into DMZ in the router settings?

Is it I go into DHCP settings 1st and assign a static IP address for the PS4? Is this done by Add reserved rule setting in the router?

Also do I assign an IP address on my PS4 manually on the PS4 settings or let the HUB 3.0 assign an IP address to the PS4 automatically?

Cheers,

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Superuser
  • 13K
  • 667
  • 4.42K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 14 of 15 (75 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by very_452001
yesterday

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

With respect, you've now been given two possible solutions, both of which would work.

But let me spell out my preferred method once again.

With the PS4 connected to the network

1.  Go to 192.168.0.1 and log in.
2. Go to DHCP and wait for the page to fully populate.
3. Click the radio button next to the PS4 entry which will add it's MAC and IP address to the Add reserved rule boxes.
4. Click Add Rule
5. Click Apply Changes.

This will now ensure that only the PS4 is given that IP address.

Next we need to deal with a security consideration BEFORE placing the PS4 in the DMZ, the fact that it will respond to mDNS requests from the internet at large.  So we need to make sure it can't do this.

6. Go to Security->Port Forwarding
7. Click Create a New Rule
8. For Local IP add the last part of the PS4's IP address.
9.  For Local Start and End ports enter 65535
10 For External Start and End Ports enter 5353
11 For Protocol Enter UDP
12 Select Enabled
13 Click Apply Changes

Finally we can now put the PS4 in the DMZ - Note there is a bug on the port forwarding and DMZ pages which will report changes have not been saved even when they have.  This will occur when you go to the next step.  Just click ignore.

14 Go to Security->DMZ
15 Select Enabled
16 Enter the last part of the PS4's IP address into the box.
17 Click Apply Changes

Now hopefully those instructions should be clear enough for you.

Tim

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Hero
  • 9.51K
  • 299
  • 814
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 2 of 15 (370 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

Manually set PS4 to 192.168.0.254 gateway 192.168.0.1 DNS 194.168.4.100 and 194.168.8.100 and DMZ to IP 192.168.0.254



Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-07-2017
Message 3 of 15 (361 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

Ok do I go into DHCP settings 1st and make an IP address reservation by using the Add reserve rule setting?

The Hub 3.0 already assigned an Ip address of 192.168.0.14 for the PS4. Can I just add that IP to the add reserve rule reservation? Does that make it into a Static IP address before putting it into DMZ?

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-07-2017
Message 4 of 15 (310 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

Anyone can please advise?

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 13K
  • 667
  • 4.42K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 5 of 15 (304 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

To be honest you've already answered your own question.

As you've correctly said use DHCP reservation to reserve the PS4's current address

Then go to the DMZ page and set the DMZ to point to 192.168.0.14.

Finally there is a vulnerability in the PS4 which means it responds to Multicast DNS requests from outside the local network.  So to stop this happening add a port forwarding rule in the Superhub to forward port 5353 UDP to an unused IP address.

See my sticky in the security section here

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Security-matters/mDNS-and-SSDP-vulnerabilities-a-suggestion-for...

Tim

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Tuning in
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-07-2017
Message 6 of 15 (281 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

Thanks for your reply.

Ok is there anything else that I can change to optimise the PS4 online experience?

Cheers,

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Hero
  • 9.51K
  • 299
  • 814
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 7 of 15 (257 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?


very_452001 wrote:

Thanks for your reply.

Ok is there anything else that I can change to optimise the PS4 online experience?

Cheers,

 


get a better router

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-07-2017
Message 8 of 15 (251 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

Hi,

The port forwarding rules you mentioned apply to the ps4 ip address of 192.168.0.14 or a unused ip address of 192.168.0.253?

If the latter then do I reserve 192.168.0.253 first? If so how do I reserve it without a mac address existing for it?

Reply
0 Kudos
Hero
  • 9.51K
  • 299
  • 814
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 9 of 15 (247 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

You don't need DHCP if you setup a static IP on the ps4 like I said in my first reply.

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-07-2017
Message 10 of 15 (228 Views)

Re: How to put PS4 in DMZ?

Isnt it best to let the router to automatically assign an ip address to the ps4 then make that address static in the router settings?

Reply
0 Kudos