Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 7 (2,994 Views)

High ping while gaming

Hi. I've been using VM 100Mbps broadband for 1-2 months and I can't say I'm not satisfied. The download speed is fabulous and everything runs smoothly. My only problem is when I'm playing online games. My ping in games like Left 4 Dead 2 or Counter Strike: GO is normally around 100ms which is very frustrating, sometimes it goes up to 400-500. I don't know why it happens, nobody downloads or uploads anything at the time I'm playing. I restarted the router to see if it helps but it's still the same story. 

Is there any way to reduce this ping? 
I always have 95-100% signal strength and link quality so it should not be a problem. I know that gaming on wireless connection is not a good idea but I can't have it other way, at least for now.

0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Message 5 of 7 (5,571 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by quent1nny
‎09-01-2016 23:40

Re: High ping while gaming

Hi quent1nny,

Welcome to the community Smiley Happy

I'm sorry to hear you're experiencing problems with online gaming.  I know how frustrating this can be.  I've tested things and can see a couple of issues which may be causing problems, although I'd like to be sure that these are causing the problems first.  Are you able to try a wired connection when gaming, to see if the ping is any better?  Are you also able to run a traceroute to the gaming server?  Your ping & trace results to bbc.co.uk looked pretty normal, so I'm interested to see if anything changes when connecting to a gaming server.  In addition it might be worth testing in modem mode.  Let me know how you get on with that.