Menu
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
StevenTan
Tuning in
1,559 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

High ping, low internet speed

Hi there,

The broadband in the house I am living in seems to be suffering with really high ping, even when connected via cable. My ping constantly ranging from 300ms to 1200ms all day. This issue have been around for months. It used to be once a month, then once a week, and now its a whole day issue. This makes playing streaming videos impossible, let alone gaming.

 

Pinging google.co.uk [216.58.198.99] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 216.58.198.99: bytes=32 time=960ms TTL=55
Reply from 216.58.198.99: bytes=32 time=823ms TTL=55
Reply from 216.58.198.99: bytes=32 time=799ms TTL=55
Reply from 216.58.198.99: bytes=32 time=825ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 216.58.198.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 799ms, Maximum = 960ms, Average = 851ms

Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.22] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.244.22: bytes=32 time=802ms TTL=52
Reply from 212.58.244.22: bytes=32 time=768ms TTL=52
Reply from 212.58.244.22: bytes=32 time=849ms TTL=52
Reply from 212.58.244.22: bytes=32 time=887ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 216.58.244.22:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 799ms, Maximum = 960ms, Average = 851ms

 

I decided to do a tracer route to EUW server from Valve.

C:\Users\G Series>tracert 146.66.158.1

Tracing route to 146.66.158.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms routerlogin.net [192.168.0.1]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 726 ms 643 ms 663 ms leic-core-2b-ae7-1266.network.virginmedia.net [62.252.71.249]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 745 ms 794 ms 814 ms nrth-bb-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.130]
6 915 ms 815 ms 680 ms m674-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net [62.254.42.162]
7 596 ms 514 ms 414 ms ldn-b1-link.telia.net [213.248.84.25]
8 363 ms 402 ms 437 ms ldn-bb3-link.telia.net [62.115.114.130]
9 519 ms 539 ms 603 ms prs-bb3-link.telia.net [62.115.115.18]
10 685 ms 731 ms 789 ms prs-b5-link.telia.net [62.115.113.153]
11 740 ms 623 ms 483 ms valve-ic-315390-prs-b5.c.telia.net [213.248.87.34]
12 524 ms 581 ms 592 ms 146.66.158.1

 

The speedtest result shows that I have 1015ms, 18.72Mbps download speed and 0.31Mbps, when I paid for 50Mbps service.

Another speedtest result that I did a couple minutes after, which shows 293ms, 12.26 download speed and 0.47 upload speed.

Screenshot (39).png

 

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)259000000235000000243000000251000000267000000275000000283000000291000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID41235678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)4.754.984.644.554.624.844.073.92
RxMER (dB)39.4038.9838.6138.6139.8539.4039.8539.40
Pre RS Errors30276064185718132326133925563798
Post RS Errors3642981019334332286312297

 

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel TypeN/AN/A2.02.0
Channel IDN/AN/A12
Frequency (Hz)N/AN/A4620000039400000
Ranging StatusOtherN/ASuccessSuccess
ModulationN/AN/A16QAM16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)N/AN/A51200005120000
Mini-Slot SizeN/AN/A44
Power Level (dBmV)N/AN/A42.7541.25
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
29/04/2016 20:08:00 GMT29/04/2016 20:08:00 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
29/04/2016 19:51:53 GMT29/04/2016 19:51:53 GMTError (4)68000410TOD resynchronisation failure
28/04/2016 20:39:51 GMT28/04/2016 20:39:51 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - 86.13.47.208
28/04/2016 20:39:13 GMT28/04/2016 20:39:13 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
28/04/2016 20:38:58 GMT28/04/2016 20:38:58 GMTNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
28/04/2016 20:34:33 GMT28/04/2016 20:34:33 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
28/04/2016 20:34:13 GMT28/04/2016 20:34:13 GMTCritical (3)82000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
26/04/2016 18:10:08 GMT26/04/2016 18:10:08 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - 86.13.47.208
26/04/2016 18:09:34 GMT26/04/2016 18:09:34 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
26/04/2016 18:09:16 GMT26/04/2016 18:09:16 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
26/04/2016 18:09:08 GMT26/04/2016 18:09:08 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
26/04/2016 18:09:06 GMT26/04/2016 18:09:06 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
26/04/2016 18:08:59 GMT26/04/2016 18:08:59 GMTNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
26/04/2016 18:08:19 GMT26/04/2016 18:08:19 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/04/2016 16:49:34 GMT26/04/2016 16:49:34 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/04/2016 14:12:05 GMT26/04/2016 14:12:05 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/04/2016 08:57:07 GMT26/04/2016 08:57:07 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
25/04/2016 22:27:10 GMT25/04/2016 22:27:10 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
23/04/2016 10:45:49 GMT23/04/2016 10:45:49 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
22/04/2016 17:28:20 GMT22/04/2016 17:28:20 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - 86.13.47.208

 

I am not able to tell the virgin acount details as I am staying in a shared house, but the postcode is LE11 3PX.

Any help is appriciated and I hope that it get resolved asap as this issue is a pain.

Thanks,
Steven.

0 Kudos

Helpful Answers
  • 9.75K
  • 314
  • 839
legacy1
Hero
1,789 Views
Message 13 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: High ping, low internet speed


StevenTan wrote:

 

So how do I identify the rogue device and block it from using my connection?


 


Its not a case of how you block it but whats causing it you may you have a weak wireless password maybe its the PC/laptop your using now to which if you block it well it does you no good. So run the super hub in router mode and disable the wireless don't have any wired devices connected just let BQM ping the super hub in router mode for a bit this will be your check then start adding devices it may be slow to find because not many people have full visibility on their network as such and if its by wireless then change the password use WPA2.

 

 

0 Kudos

All Replies
  • 35
  • 0
  • 3
Jbauer83
On our wavelength
1,503 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed

Chances are you are being traffic managed. I've been having similar issues. Then they sent an engineer out. Who sorted out all the power levels. Then he rang someone up. Turns out all the days I was having issues those were the days I was being traffic managed. I play ESO on the XBOX one. And occasionally upload files to my online back up drive. Turns out ur only allowed to upload 750mb per hour!!!! It's pathetic.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
  • 9.75K
  • 314
  • 839
legacy1
Hero
1,499 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed

A device you have connected maybe doing uploading or downloading which will buffer your rate limit in the super hub as it has no QoS.

Limit whats connected to your super hub by disabling the wireless in the super hub with one wired device.

0 Kudos
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
StevenTan
Tuning in
1,474 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed

I still have no idea how does the traffic manage thing work; how much are we allowed to upload and download per hour/per day? They should really write these details down, and tell the users that they are being trafifc managed. Still, I really hate how they can traffic manage you to give someone else your bandwidth. I am the one paying more money, and I EXPECT to get similar stuff in return. If they are gonna give me 50kbps when I paid for 50Mbps, I'm just gonna bring down their reputation on the net. If I can't even stream a video, whats the point of having internet?

 

EDIT: Gaming at 400ms is not fun at all. If they have problem supplying agreed internet speed to everyone in an area, then stop advertising and all those arrogant talk about being the best in UK. Traffic managing someone is just not right at all.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
StevenTan
Tuning in
1,473 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed

Even if thats the case, I can understand if its a temporary situation. But this is just outrageous, every single day in the week, the same problem arises and persist for hours.
0 Kudos
  • 9.75K
  • 314
  • 839
legacy1
Hero
1,464 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed

Ok well setup a BQM then.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping

let it run for an hour or two then disable the wireless in the super hub and remove your wired devices for hour if your using the super hub in router mode it will do the ping for BQM when enabled.

0 Kudos
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
StevenTan
Tuning in
1,461 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed

Screenshot (40).png

A graph I did few days ago, not sure if it will help or not.

But I will do another one just in case.

 

Your IP address 86.13.47.208, Virgin Media
Nearest testing server Nottingham
Ping 667 ms
Average upload 23.7 KB/s
Average download 51.2 KB/s
Maximum upload 128 KB/s
Maximum download 106 KB/s

Any idea why is the testing server at Nottingham? This data is copied from Netwox speed meter.

0 Kudos
  • 9.75K
  • 314
  • 839
legacy1
Hero
1,454 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed


StevenTan wrote:

 

A graph I did few days ago, not sure if it will help or not.

But I will do another one just in case.

Your IP address 86.13.47.208, Virgin Media

 


I take it you disable the ping in the super hub router mode after you did this graph? Also it will take some time before I see the graph you posted as it has to be approved.

well that was fast... you didn't enable ping in the super hub if your using router mode.

 

0 Kudos
  • 9.75K
  • 314
  • 839
legacy1
Hero
1,434 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed

If you have now enabled ping in the super hub for router mode now disable the wireless in the super hub and remove your wired devices for hour if its the super hub doing the pinging.

0 Kudos
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
StevenTan
Tuning in
1,423 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping, low internet speed

Screenshot (42).png

Here it is, I've redo the BQM.

after around 10.30pm - tickbox is checked after 'Respond to ICMP echo requests sent to WAN IP'

after around 12am - router is switched to modem mode

after around 9am - router is switched back to wireless mode.

 

My device was not connected via cable throughout the whole graph, except when I was switching back to wireless mode.

 

Screenshot (43).png

This is the speedtest I've done when I am trypig this reply.

0 Kudos