Menu
Sapphidia
Joining in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

DCs/Lag in Final Fantasy XIV since yesterday

Thought I'd put a forum post here as this seems to be a common thing now.

I've had perfect lag-free gaming in Final Fantasy XIV ever since I started playing (over a year now) and since yesterday evening I've been experiencing random infrequent disconnects, burst lag, laggy menus and such. It seems worse since this morning but definitely started last night. It's worth noting that my ping to other services and general internet/web connectivity is perfect, this issue only seems to affect Final Fantasy XIV.

Two other friends of mine who are also in the UK and on Virgin report exactly the same thing since this morning, though they live in totally different areas of the UK to me so it's not related to local exchanges.

Any update on what might be causing this? Routing issue (i believe all FFXIV servers are in canada?) or is this related to the general MMO problem on the forums to do with superhub traffic?

EDIT - link to the post on Reddit with some other customers of Virgin noting that the issues only started this morning (there was a server maintenance that finished around 10:30 UK time so people didnt get to play before then)   https://www.reddit.com/r/ffxiv/comments/3fqi87/burst_lagdelay_since_maintenance_ukvirgin/

Sno
Joining in
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: DCs/Lag in Final Fantasy XIV since yesterday

Just dropping in to say that I am having the same issues.
0 Kudos
Kruxxor
Tuning in
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

I am also having the same problem, it seems to be affecting all Virgin users regarding a firmware update.

0 Kudos
JC36
Joining in
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

I created an account just to mention this.

I have played FFXIV for many years (Even back to April 2010 when Alpha was released) I have not encountered any problems that weren't either Square Enix's or my side until today.