Menu
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Rian515
Tuning in
345 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

Hi, for the last few days i have been getting constant Dc's from my router and packet less when searching / playing online in many different games with different routing.

I mainly play BNS and the packet loss is noticable when the screen freezes and i drop connection to the game or the game just plays i get locked into a certain frame and it starts to play catchup after reconnecting itself or recovering from the packet loss.

I am playing on a WIRED connection. Thanks for any help or info that can be given

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.95K
  • 377
  • 929
Superuser
Superuser
294 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss


Rian515 wrote:

Hi, for the last few days i have been getting constant Dc's from my router and packet less when searching / playing online in many different games with different routing.

I mainly play BNS and the packet loss is noticable when the screen freezes and i drop connection to the game or the game just plays i get locked into a certain frame and it starts to play catchup after reconnecting itself or recovering from the packet loss.

I am playing on a WIRED connection. Thanks for any help or info that can be given


 

If you go to http://192.168.100.1/ to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here. If you attach screen shots then they will not be visible to most of us until they are approved by a moderator so pasting text is better, don't worry about the formatting.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread in a few days and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Rian515
Tuning in
277 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

Hi, thanks for the reply!

as for what you requested :

Downstream 

  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8 299000000 Hz 267000000 Hz 275000000 Hz 283000000 Hz 291000000 Hz 307000000 Hz 315000000 Hz 323000000 Hz Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked 127 123 124 125 126 128 129 130 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 4.8 dBmV 4.2 dBmV 3.8 dBmV 3.9 dBmV 3.7 dBmV 4.3 dBmV 2.4 dBmV 3.7 dBmV 42.5 dB 42.5 dB 42.5 dB 43.1 dB 42.6 dB 41.9 dB 39.9 dB 41.3 dB

Frequency (Hz)
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)
Channel ID
Modulation
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)
Interleave Depth
Power Level (dBmV)
RxMER (dB)


Upstream :

  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4 2.0 2.0 N/A N/A 1 2 N/A N/A 46200000 Hz 39400000 Hz N/A N/A Success Success N/A N/A QAM16 QAM16 N/A N/A 5120000 5120000 N/A N/A 128 128 N/A N/A 45.5 dBmV 45.3 dBmV N/A N/A 0 0 N/A N/A 0 0 N/A N/A 0 0 N/A N/A 0 0 N/A N/A

Channel Type
Channel ID
Frequency (Hz)
Ranging Status
Modulation
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)
Mini-Slot Size
Power Level (dBmV)
T1 Timeouts
T2 Timeouts
T3 Timeouts
T4 Timeouts


Network log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
 16/05/2016 18:27:26  16/05/2016 18:27:26  Critical (3)  2436694078  TOD established 
 15/05/2016 18:11:34  15/05/2016 18:11:34  Critical (3)  82000400  Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 


Again thanks for the reply, posted on tuesday and im still getting random dc's and spikes, i went ahead and even brought a new Ethernet cable thinking that could be a issue but didn't make a difference 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.95K
  • 377
  • 929
Superuser
Superuser
271 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

Power levels appear to be within the recommended range. Maybe the VM staff will be able to see something when they get to this thread in a few days and run their tests.  Sorry I couldn't be more helpful.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Rian515
Tuning in
265 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

no problem, thanks for trying was thinking about maybe booking an engineer out or something, if not maybe look at switching supplier :/ games i play i need stable consistent ping and atm its just more frustrating to play with all these spikes Smiley Sad

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Rian515
Tuning in
224 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

Hi, still having huge packet loss when playing currently i used ping plotter to a game server that i play on and im losing alot of packets :/

Currently unplayable even my internet keeps disconnecting every few hours for a few seconds i drop connection

d1752e42d0b5d820aa0489a759cbec1e.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.95K
  • 146
  • 282
Forum Team (Retired) BenD_H
Forum Team (Retired)
163 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

Hi Rian515,

 

Thank you for coming back and posting and my apologies for the late response.

 

Thanks for posting your graphs, It looks like the latency doesn't rise until it gets to the destination hop. I'm also not seeing any packet loss. If you're still having trouble with disconnects could you run a traceroute through cmd and post it here too? 

 

Many thanks.

 

Ben


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Rian515
Tuning in
157 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

Hi, what exactly would you like me to trace route because i left the modem off for 1 day and hit the reset button and im stilling disconnects from the internet, i've even had the computer on streaming games and watched the modem lights go off and come back again after a few seconds :/

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 295
  • 963
Forum Team
Forum Team
133 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

Hello Rian515

 

Thank you for coming back it does sound frustrating. At the moment your connection looks good and the area historical data looks good also. The hub is reporting as being online for the last 6 days error free, have you noticed an improvement? I wonder whether you would consider setting up a Broadband Quality Monitor as at times this can be quite informative.

 

Many thanks

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Rian515
Tuning in
128 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constant Disconnects and Packet Loss

Hi nicola,

Thanks for getting back, problem is still consistent, Random disconnects to games im playing while online, and also web browsing is really slow, even after doing a fresh install of my operating system i'm not quite sure on what to do. :/

0 Kudos
Reply