Menu
Danthdan
Joining in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Consistent Ping/Lag spikes

So i'm only here because everywhere else i've looked for a result for this problem, has been an utter waste of time.

I play a hell of allot of League of Legends, a game in which a split second mistake can cost you an entire 40 minute average game. There is literally not one game that i play in which i am not hit with my ping going from 32-16000, yes 16,000....

I'm no tech expert at all, and i have literally no idea why this happens. Most of the time i just think it's the game, it's a problem on there side , but when i'm sat in a skype call with other people who live on the same street as me, and they're all playing fine, kinda makes me have to assume it's a problem with the internet.

But that's not even it...There's more!

My Mother uses a NowTV box to watch some tv shows every now and then, when she does, it completely "kills" the internet, i can barely load webpages when the NowTV box is on. This also happens when someone is using the internet on something like a phone. If that's not all every now and then the internet just cuts out and will tell me my services are limited. Only to come back randomly.

So this has been going on for a long while now. Months and months ago i even opted into getting an upgrade to hopefully fix this problem(like a sap), i'm supposed to be getting 100meg broadband( or atleast that's what i'm told i'm being sold) ,out of the literal hundreds of tests i've done. I've only ever seen it max out on about 72, so what's up with that?

Rant aside, i just want to enjoy the service i pay for, hell i can even tolerate lag spikes/dc's whatever.... but to happen so consistently is just so annoying. It feels like i had a more reliable and stable connection when i was using Dial up with Tiscali, seriously...

If someone could help me out , that would be greatly appreciated. Just go easy on me with all the technical jargon, i'm a noob.

0 Kudos
Superuser