Menu
Reply
Up to speed
  • 172
  • 7
  • 5
Registered: ‎06-04-2010
Message 101 of 107 (270 Views)

Re: Connection issues with Blizzard services

[ Edited ]

And once again, lost connection to Battle.net servers in the middle of a match resulting in another ban. Yet connecting my phone using personal hotspot is completely fine.

Here's a trace route to the two IP addresses listed on Blizzard's support site.

 

tracert 185.60.114.159

Tracing route to 185.60.114.159 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3    17 ms    17 ms    15 ms  hudd-core-2b-xe-1122-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.7.152.193]
  4     9 ms    10 ms    10 ms  leed-bb-1b-ae13-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.175.158]
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7    12 ms    33 ms    13 ms  nrth-ic-1-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.218]
  8    15 ms    15 ms    37 ms  m674-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net [62.254.42.162]
  9    15 ms    30 ms    17 ms  ae-11.r24.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [195.66.224.138]
 10    33 ms    21 ms    17 ms  ae-1.r25.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.27]
 11    24 ms    25 ms    31 ms  ae-2.r24.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.2]
 12    31 ms    25 ms    32 ms  ae-2.r03.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.211]
 13   139 ms    28 ms   133 ms  xe-0-3-0-21.r03.amstnl02.nl.ce.gin.ntt.net [81.20.69.82]
 14    31 ms    29 ms    30 ms  37.244.10.35
 15    31 ms    29 ms    31 ms  24.105.31.55
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 

 

tracert 185.60.112.157

Tracing route to 185.60.112.157 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms     1 ms  router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3    30 ms    14 ms    16 ms  hudd-core-2b-xe-1122-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.7.152.193]
  4     9 ms    10 ms    22 ms  leed-bb-1b-ae13-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.175.158]
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7    17 ms    14 ms    13 ms  nrth-ic-1-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.218]
  8    25 ms    15 ms    16 ms  m674-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net [62.254.42.162]
  9    45 ms    23 ms    16 ms  ae-11.r24.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [195.66.224.138]
 10    28 ms    20 ms    22 ms  ae-1.r25.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.27]
 11    24 ms    22 ms    26 ms  ae-2.r24.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.2]
 12    24 ms    23 ms    31 ms  ae-2.r03.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.211]
 13    24 ms    22 ms    22 ms  xe-0-3-0-21.r03.amstnl02.nl.ce.gin.ntt.net [81.20.69.82]
 14    29 ms    23 ms    22 ms  37.244.10.35
 15    23 ms    25 ms    24 ms  37.244.10.103
 16    23 ms    26 ms    24 ms  185.60.112.157

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎12-01-2012
Message 102 of 107 (263 Views)

Re: Connection issues with Blizzard services

Its not just battle.net . I get exactly the same thing with EA online and Elder Scrolls online.

I was on Teamspeak with someone and they got disconnected from Elder scrolls at exactly the same time i got disconnected from EA online. And they are on VM in the north east ( DL3 ) and i am north west ( L23)

We have also both been DCed from EOS at the same time , and a recent post in this thread got disconnected from battle.net at the same time as out last error. 

Somone else on Teamspeak who is on BT was totally fine.

I am an IT an Network tech of 10 years and i am almost sure, it IS in your network.

It will be an interconnect between VM and the large continental ISP that provides all the above game servers , as i would have got a drop or at least a massive dip in bitrate on Teamspeak and i did not. 

This is not just the only evidence of this , a poster above me connects fine via a VPN , this means that whatever route they are taking out of your network is fine to the VPN and then that VPN is using a DIFFERENT connect to the games ISP.

I can do some limited testing of your network ( not having access to your routers and switches it will be limited box testing), our work ISP Exponental-e (L1 postcode) provided by  VM Business , i will set up a tunnel for say ESO and test over the next few days whist playing with another person on VM and stay with them on TS and see if they get a DC and i don't. 

If we still both get a DC we know its an interconnect between VM and another ISP , if i don't we know that home users are getting dropped off due to a switch or router thats in constant overload.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎12-01-2012
Message 103 of 107 (258 Views)

Re: Connection issues with Blizzard services

[ Edited ]

More Testing

 

Both of the IPs of the log in servers for EA and Elder scrolls are in the same datacentre 

 

http://ip-address-lookup-v4.com/ip/195.153.234.54

http://ip-address-lookup-v4.com/ip/195.122.154.1

 

It will be one of this lot

 

http://www.datacentermap.com/united-kingdom/leeds/

 

Get testing.

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Registered: ‎23-11-2011
Message 104 of 107 (185 Views)

Re: Connection issues with Blizzard services

[ Edited ]

Hi MacGenius,

Thank you for those traceroutes. Could we please have traceroutes, to the same destination IP's, from when you are connected to your mobile network? I'm interested in comparing them.

Thanks.

 

Hi andrewjoy,

I appreciate what you are saying but we do need some evidential data to send over to networks. Comparison traceroutes would be a good starting point - those via a VM connection, via a VPN and/or mobile network.

I'd also like to know if these disconnections are occurring when playing via a console? 
Also via wired or wireless?

I did run some comparative tests via the CMTS, thereby accurately replicating your routing to those server IP's, but there was no evidence of anything wrong. No increased ping times and packet loss.

Please post the requested information and I'll take another look.

Thanks Smiley Happy

 

****-cmts-08# ping 185.60.112.157 source-ip **.**.***.* repeat-count 1000
Using Source-IP for cable-mac 2.0
Sending IP ping to: 185.60.112.157 from **.**.***.*
ping (185.60.112.157): 100 data bytes
1000 packets transmitted, 1000 packets received
round-trip min/avg/max = 9/10/20 ms


Jen
Forum Team



Reply
0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 130
  • 7
  • 22
Registered: ‎20-03-2015
Message 105 of 107 (161 Views)

Re: Connection issues with Blizzard services


Jen_A wrote:

Hi MacGenius,

Thank you for those traceroutes. Could we please have traceroutes, to the same destination IP's, from when you are connected to your mobile network? I'm interested in comparing them.

Thanks.

 

Hi andrewjoy,

I appreciate what you are saying but we do need some evidential data to send over to networks. Comparison traceroutes would be a good starting point - those via a VM connection, via a VPN and/or mobile network.

I'd also like to know if these disconnections are occurring when playing via a console? 
Also via wired or wireless?

I did run some comparative tests via the CMTS, thereby accurately replicating your routing to those server IP's, but there was no evidence of anything wrong. No increased ping times and packet loss.

Please post the requested information and I'll take another look.

Thanks Smiley Happy

 

****-cmts-08# ping 185.60.112.157 source-ip **.**.***.* repeat-count 1000
Using Source-IP for cable-mac 2.0
Sending IP ping to: 185.60.112.157 from **.**.***.*
ping (185.60.112.157): 100 data bytes
1000 packets transmitted, 1000 packets received
round-trip min/avg/max = 9/10/20 ms


Hi Jen,

although the following is not with Blizzard's services as the OP has described, I do think there is an underlying problem as demonstrated below.

Original thread.

See a WinMTR output (ignore the first hop as this is a VPN but I can guarantee the latency is not induced by this I am just at work right now when typing this up and will post locally run results this evening).

WinMTR statistics

 

Host%SentRecvBestAvrgWrstLast
10.2.0.00501501162111921
SweetWap0501501172211926
10.241.0.10501501253211926
manc-core-2a-xe-102-0.network.virginmedia.net0501501263411534
No response from host10010100000
No response from host10010100000
No response from host10010100000
No response from host10010100000
nrth-ic-1-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net2465456293910047
m674-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net0501501314012638
No response from host10010100000
de-fra04a-rc1-ae26-0.aorta.net0501501465811973
de-fra01b-ri2-ae32-0.aorta.net0501501445212157
213.46.177.340501501455312247
80.95.144.25149749606611066
46.251.234.52149749606711066

 

The results in red are Austria and Germany.

For good measure, tracert run from cmd (again ignore the first hop):

Tracing route to 46.251.234.52 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    19 ms    25 ms    19 ms  10.2.0.0 
  2    25 ms    29 ms    19 ms  SweetWap [192.168.1.1] 
  3    29 ms    25 ms    31 ms  10.241.0.1 
  4    34 ms    31 ms    29 ms  manc-core-2a-xe-102-0.network.virginmedia.net [82.15.204.141] 
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9   124 ms    43 ms    35 ms  nrth-ic-1-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.42.218] 
 10    35 ms    35 ms    35 ms  m674-mp2.cvx1-b.lis.dial.ntli.net [62.254.42.162] 
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12    75 ms    49 ms    47 ms  de-fra04a-rc1-ae26-0.aorta.net [84.116.132.18] 
 13    50 ms    46 ms    55 ms  de-fra01b-ri2-ae32-0.aorta.net [84.116.134.190] 
 14    49 ms    49 ms    50 ms  213.46.177.34 
 15    64 ms    63 ms    63 ms  80.95.144.25 
 16    75 ms    83 ms    70 ms  46.251.234.52 

Trace complete.

 I will also try and post results from others on VM with the same issues but in geographically different locations.

I encourage users to test this for themselves so here is the public IP of the (game)server in question is 46.251.234.52 as listed in the results above.

I will also provide a test run when using a premium VPN service that all but eliminates the long route and reduces latency significantly:

WinMTR statistics

 

Host%SentRecvBestAvrgWrstLast
10.3.37.1150150016203918
192.168.64.2150150016203919
linx.link11.de150150017215918
46.251.234.52150150018224020

 

Please note the host listed as linx.link11.de is based in the UK, follow the link to see where I have retrieved the information.

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Registered: ‎23-11-2011
Message 106 of 107 (116 Views)

Re: Connection issues with Blizzard services

Hi stormfury2,

The OP has reported an issue with the way we route to Blizzard servers. Your destination address is for Nitrado game servers and the traceroutes don't route the same way.

Are you saying that there is also an issue with Nitrado? Are you also experiencing disconnects that your game host is unable to account for?

I'm not being tetchy by the way (I know that words in print can sometimes come across differently to the way they are intended) but just want to get all the facts in order.


Jen
Forum Team



Reply
0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 130
  • 7
  • 22
Registered: ‎20-03-2015
Message 107 of 107 (108 Views)

Re: Connection issues with Blizzard services

Hi Jen_A,

I have posted this in a separate thread a couple of weeks ago but didn't get any traction.

The route to this server is plagued with strange hops. I can VPN to it around 4-5 hops but using no VPN I have the results as posted in the previous post.

The latency is the main issue because the server is in LiNX (London) I'd expect to get around 20-30 not almost 50-60. The server is a dedicated server running on premium hosting. Only VM has high latency, even players outside of the UK (Netherlands, Germany, France etc) get lower pings than the users on VM in the UK.

Original thread.

Reply
0 Kudos