Menu
Reply
Joining in
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: a month ago
Message 1 of 8 (242 Views)

Area 14 - is this latency because of my superhub3 or area.

Ok so i have noticed while gaming that sometimes i get spikes in pings when carrying out actions in games. I have a super hub 3 in router mode wired to my pc. Speed tests are fine but ping is noticeable in games. I used to be with BT and ran several pings to the same servers and bt always had a lower ping time and consistent by a far margin however i stuck with virgin.

I do have a loose coax cable dangling from the third tier of my house which has been there from 15 years also not sure if that is effecting it.

Is there any way to improve the latency issue?

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media home connection

 

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000005.536.3256 qam17
23230000005.836.6256 qam20
33150000005.636.3256 qam19
43070000005.636.6256 qam18
52910000005.136.6256 qam16
62830000005.436.6256 qam15
72750000005.336.6256 qam14
82670000005.336.6256 qam13
92590000005.136.3256 qam12
10251000000536.3256 qam11
11243000000536.6256 qam10
122350000005.136.6256 qam9
132270000005.536.6256 qam8
142190000005.536.6256 qam7
152110000005.536.6256 qam6
162030000005.636.6256 qam5
17195000000637.6256 qam4
181870000006.336.6256 qam3
191790000006.136.6256 qam2
201710000006.337.3256 qam1

 

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

539400000ATDMA42.816 qam64000005120
446200000ATDMA42.816 qam64000005120

 

Network Log Date And Time Error Number Event Description

2017-08-30 19:12:27.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-08-30 19:12:28.0082000700Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-08-30 19:12:28.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-08-30 19:12:29.0082000700Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-08-30 19:12:29.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-08-30 19:12:30.0082000700Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-08-30 19:12:30.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-08-30 19:12:31.0082000700Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-08-30 19:12:31.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-01 15:20:02.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-01 15:20:02.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-01 15:20:03.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-02 19:19:43.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
1970-01-01 00:01:22.0084020100Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-04 03:52:17.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-08 18:07:49.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-08 20:12:38.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-09 09:52:49.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-10 01:37:52.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-09-10 01:37:52.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Fibre optic
  • 313
  • 12
  • 111
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 7 of 8 (284 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Cocothecat
a week ago

Re: Area 14 - is this latency because of my superhub3 or area.


Cocothecat wrote:

I may just need to move to BT/plusnet and do with there FTTC as it was so much more stable and responsive for gaming. 


Personally I'd take VDSL FTTC at 50-70Mpbs over 300Mpbs DOCSIS any time. I don't care about having to download huge amount of data all the time, and with VDSL you also have bigger upload speed.

Sadly where I live Virgin has complete monopoly on superfast broadband...

 

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Highlighted
Fibre optic
  • 568
  • 9
  • 49
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 2 of 8 (198 Views)

Re: Area 14 - is this latency because of my superhub3 or area.

Probably, but that latency isn't all that bad. If you count all the spikes then it spikes maybe 2-3 times per hour, sometimes less. Most SH3's spike every 2 or 3 seconds. You could try modem mode, it might gain you a slight improvement. Bare in mind that Cable (DOCSIS) is never going to give you a ultra flat BQM like an ultra stable VDSL line can.

I think most people here would bite your hand off to get that BQM with a SH3.

Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 313
  • 12
  • 111
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 3 of 8 (173 Views)

Re: Area 14 - is this latency because of my superhub3 or area.


DarkBahamut wrote:

Bare in mind that Cable (DOCSIS) is never going to give you a ultra flat BQM like an ultra stable VDSL line can.

 


Well, you can get pretty damn close at the very least. All you need is:

1) Either (Virgin's version of FTTP) or (cabinet right outside of your house+being in sparsely populated area)

2) SH2(AC) in modem mode

3) Good own router with proper QoS/SQM

66115d716e5c9d85260d369da958aeee1f994d2f-07-09-2017

 

 

 

Fibre optic
  • 568
  • 9
  • 49
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 4 of 8 (168 Views)

Re: Area 14 - is this latency because of my superhub3 or area.

[ Edited ]

It's not as simple as that. The whole RF plant needs to be perfect to get a graph like that.

I've had a cable connection now for 17 1/2 years with no gaps at all and I've seen network conditions that good, but it really requires perfection in the whole system for it to happen. Back in the 512Kbps days I used to game with a rock solid 10ms ping and I was no where near the cabinet either. Just a really nice area (Birmingham cable/Telewest, for the record).

The reality is 99% of customers are never going to see a BQM that good, so there's no point giving them hope of seeing one. At least on xDSL it's a bit more likely!

Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 313
  • 12
  • 111
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 5 of 8 (163 Views)

Re: Area 14 - is this latency because of my superhub3 or area.

[ Edited ]

DarkBahamut wrote:

It's not as simple as that. The whole RF plant needs to be perfect to get a graph like that.

 


Ok, with FTTC it could be matter of slim chance. Still, you've said "DOCSIS will never be that good" - my objection was mainly "never say never" Smiley Happy

And still, FTTP should achieve it easily though since with it, RF only several meters from outside box (essentially mini-node) to your superhub - and its point-to-point.

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: a month ago
Message 6 of 8 (147 Views)

Re: Area 14 - is this latency because of my superhub3 or area.

the grey cabin is on top of my street not very far. I know a lot of people have VM in my area. I may just need to move to BT/plusnet and do with there FTTC as it was so much more stable and responsive for gaming. I mean do have a usage of around 400GB a month so i guess slower downloads is a downside but hey can game properly.

Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 313
  • 12
  • 111
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 7 of 8 (285 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Cocothecat
a week ago

Re: Area 14 - is this latency because of my superhub3 or area.


Cocothecat wrote:

I may just need to move to BT/plusnet and do with there FTTC as it was so much more stable and responsive for gaming. 


Personally I'd take VDSL FTTC at 50-70Mpbs over 300Mpbs DOCSIS any time. I don't care about having to download huge amount of data all the time, and with VDSL you also have bigger upload speed.

Sadly where I live Virgin has complete monopoly on superfast broadband...

 

Joining in
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: a month ago
Message 8 of 8 (64 Views)

Re: Area 14 - latency/packet loss for me and others

still having latency issues, my ping is constantly up and down and so is everyone elses in the area.

 

 

https://gyazo.com/a572c59416ad47a9f21cc6698e770b9e

Reply
0 Kudos