Menu
Reply
Superfast
  • 130
  • 7
  • 22
Registered: ‎20-03-2015
Message 31 of 58 (173 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

Hopefully this will help others too because I imagine it's something that isn't often covered in this much detail, there are a good number of knowledgeable folk on here which helps too.

Good luck with the streaming/gaming, remember the community when you become rich and famous!
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.37K
  • 361
  • 2.31K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 32 of 58 (166 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

[ Edited ]

Lod1996 wrote:
Alright I get it! Your example was just perfect to make me understand how it works! I will leave this conversation open if possible and I'll update you in few days as I will buy the router very soon.

Thanks once again

You didn't say which router you will buy.

You might want to think carefully about the non-gamer features as well before purchasing a new router, as the choice will affect everyone.

e.g. The Netduma R1 and Asus RT-AC87u are comparable in price at around £150 on Amazon, but the Netduma only has 2.4ghz wifi and the Asus has waaay more general purpose features and much better wifi than the Netduma.

Personally I wouldn't want to limit myself to 54Mbps 2.4ghz wifi of the Netduma, which only gives a max of 25-30Mb speed. Kinda defeats the purpose of having Vivid 200. As I said earlier in the thread, my recommendation for a balanced router with Adaptive QoS would be the Asus RT-AC87u. YMMV.

Fibre optic
  • 362
  • 15
  • 81
Registered: ‎08-09-2015
Message 33 of 58 (157 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

I use a Asus RT-AC88u , if that's helpful ?



Running ASUS RT-AC88U with Asuswrt-Merlin firmware
Tuning in
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎08-03-2017
Message 34 of 58 (152 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

I just bought the Netgear AC1900, read pretty good reviews about it! What do you think?
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.37K
  • 361
  • 2.31K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 35 of 58 (138 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

[ Edited ]

Lod1996 wrote:
I just bought the Netgear AC1900, read pretty good reviews about it! What do you think?

The Netgear Nighthawk series of routers are generally pretty good.

Btw, the AC1900 isn't the model number, so we have no idea which model you have. Could be the R7000, D7000, R7000DST, or R6900? Depending on where you bought it from. Judging by your previous link you likely bought from PCWorld, so either the R7000 or D7000?

Hopefully it's the R7000 you bought.

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.37K
  • 361
  • 2.31K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 36 of 58 (130 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

Netgear's QoS solution seems pretty easy to setup, though not as many options as some alternatives:

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.37K
  • 361
  • 2.31K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 37 of 58 (124 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

Although actually I think that Dynamic QoS is only available on certain Nighthawk models:

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-howto/32970-how-to-choose-the-best-router-qos

The R7000 has downstream and upstream QoS, but you'll just have to find out if it's sufficient for your purposes.

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.37K
  • 361
  • 2.31K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 38 of 58 (122 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

[ Edited ]

Note to anyone looking to buy a top of the line router: The Asus AC3200 is currently on sale for £164.99 at PCWorld: http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/computing-accessories/networking/network-routers-and-switches/routers/...

Which is major overkill for most people's needs, but thought I'd mention it.

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎08-03-2017
Message 39 of 58 (110 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200

Yewp, I bought the R7000...
Could you possibly guide me through the steps please?
Thanks once again
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.37K
  • 361
  • 2.31K
Registered: ‎30-01-2013
Message 40 of 58 (103 Views)

Re: Amazing ping with VIVID 200


Lod1996 wrote:
Yewp, I bought the R7000...
Could you possibly guide me through the steps please?
Thanks once again

Follow the support FAQ's for your model...

Support menu: http://www.netgear.com/support/product/r7000.aspx

Getting Started: http://www.netgear.com/support/product/r7000.aspx#GettingStarted_CommonTopics

How do I enable upstream quality of service (QoS) to optimize gaming on my Nighthawk router? http://kb.netgear.com/23852/How-do-I-enable-upstream-quality-of-service-QoS-to-optimize-gaming-on-my...

Reply
0 Kudos