Menu
Reply
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎23-03-2012
Message 1 of 25 (14,337 Views)

Virgin Media box won't turn on

The Virgin Media box in our house last night went from having the usual blue lights to just a single red light. Neither the button on the front of the box or the remote will turn the box on. Is the box completely broken?

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 5.51K
  • 300
  • 840
Registered: ‎05-01-2011
Message 2 of 25 (14,333 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on

Try disconnection it from the mains for 5 mins and see if it springs to life once plugged back in.

Also what Box do you have?


Vivid 200Mb (SH2AC & Hub 3.0) 2XTivo TV XL + Sky Movies. Phone M. 100Mb Business (Hitron Hub).
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎23-03-2012
Message 3 of 25 (14,329 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on

Hi, it's a Virgin VBox HD, the model number is 4585DVB. The box has been switched off and on again and we're still having the same problem.

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 5.51K
  • 300
  • 840
Registered: ‎05-01-2011
Message 4 of 25 (14,326 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on

Suspect a dead box. (Supprised as the cisco VHD boxes normally are pritty stable)

You can wait for a forum team to pick up the post (can take upto 7 days) or call in to CS via 150 from a vm line or 0845 454 1111 (Mobiles charge more then local rate for 0845)


Vivid 200Mb (SH2AC & Hub 3.0) 2XTivo TV XL + Sky Movies. Phone M. 100Mb Business (Hitron Hub).
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎23-03-2012
Message 5 of 25 (14,324 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on

I already tried to call them but it said office hours ended at 5:30pm. I'll try them again tomorrow morning, thanks for your help.

0 Kudos
Hero
  • 6.84K
  • 252
  • 671
Registered: ‎08-03-2010
Message 6 of 25 (14,309 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on


d_a_barker wrote:

I already tried to call them but it said office hours ended at 5:30pm. I'll try them again tomorrow morning, thanks for your help.


Common fault with a VHd, needs swapped
0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 420
  • 2
  • 66
Registered: ‎14-12-2011
Message 7 of 25 (14,282 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on

Hi d_a_barker,

I have booked a technician for you as your stb is not online. Could you please just check that all cables are securely connected to the box, tv & socket in the wall. I have sent you a PM with the details. Should you wish to either cancel or reschedule the appointment please visit My Virgin Media, Service Status. Just for future reference, you can also use this service to diagnose faults & if necessary book an appointment.

Regards,

Lesley Chenard
Help & Support Forum Team

0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎23-03-2012
Message 8 of 25 (14,267 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on

The cables are all secure, I've checked them all and it still doesn't work. Thanks for arranging a time with the technician.

0 Kudos
Just joined
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎24-04-2012
Message 9 of 25 (14,151 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on

Our Virgin box has the same problem and I've tried all the steps on the site.

0 Kudos
Forum Team (Retired)
  • 746
  • 4
  • 128
Registered: ‎14-12-2011
Message 10 of 25 (14,143 Views)

Re: Virgin Media box won't turn on

Hi stewartchinn,

 

I have checked the box from here aswell and its showing offline, so we will need to book an engineer to attend your property. If you could send me a private message with your house number and postcode and I will check the appointment times for you.

 

Thanks


Emily Lewis
Help & Support Forum Team

0 Kudos