Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
Bright Spark
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎19-01-2011

Super Hub 2

Hi guys, any news on the new version of the superhub yet, I know its launching this year

Good to Know
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

Re: Super Hub 2

its not been put into production yet as far as i'm aware but i was told that it will be soon.

 

Soon = any time between now and the end of time if its anything to do with VM lol

Making Waves
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: Super Hub 2

A technician visited me today and I asked him about the super hub2, he said that it might be released in about 2months! Smiley Happy 

Also he said that super hub 1 will be getting an update.. Smiley Happy 

Crafty
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Super Hub 2

It won't be 2 months I guarantee that.

Virgin are awaiting the protype units from Netgear (intel chipset) & Ubee (Ambit).

Superuser
Posts: 12,308
Registered: ‎20-06-2010

Re: Super Hub 2


olafs93 wrote:

A technician visited me today and I asked him about the super hub2, he said that it might be released in about 2months! Smiley Happy 

Also he said that super hub 1 will be getting an update.. Smiley Happy 


never believe what a tech tells you THEY LIE!!!

Brainbox
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Super Hub 2

I hope they go with Ambit, Netgear sucks.

Specialist
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎10-03-2011

Re: Super Hub 2

[ Edited ]

I hope not, Netgear don't suck, they made what Virgin asked for, a Retail version of it is much, much better. But that was too expensive for Virgin, so they hgad to skimp on costs.

 

As always, lowest cost = contract.

which means item = cheap rubbish.

 

And compared to BT the superhub is not that bad.

 

Spec	Hub 1.0/1.5[7]	Hub 2.0[2]	Hub 3.0
Modem	ADSL2+	ADSL2+	ADSL2+ (PPPoE is also supported in firmware for VDSL2[8])
Wi-Fi	802.11 b/g	802.11 b/g/n	802.11 b/g/n (now with Smart Wireless, explained above)
Wireless
Security	WEP and WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK/RADIUS	All previous features but now with WPS
Ports	2x Ethernet 10/100 Mbit/s
1x USB 1.1
2x RJ11 (broadband in and phone)	4 x 10/100 Mbit/s Ethernet sockets (RJ45)
1x USB (For network drives)
1x Broadband In (RJ11)
1x telephone socket	3 x 10/100 Mbit/s Ethernet sockets (RJ45)
1 x 10/100/1000 Mbit/s Ethernet socket (RJ45)
1x USB (Now is enabled for use)
1x BT Infinity In (RJ45)
1x ADSL Broadband In (RJ11)
Dimensions
(w x d x h)	-	175 x 88 x 182mm	18.5 cm x 11 cm (w x h)
Software	6.2.6.H[9]	8.1.H.U (Type A), 4.7.5.1.83.3.18 (Type B)	4.7.5.1.83.8.57.1.3 (Type A) - as at 23 Apr 2011

Even the lastest model has  only 1 Gigabit connection and in the beginning suffered from the same rest problem as the Virgin hub.

 

Only version 3 supports WPS. So in direct comparason Virgin actually did quite well with their first attempt, thus I say stick with Netgear.

--------------------
Internet:-160Mb/10Mb
Phone:Virgin XL
TV Virgin XL with TIVO.
Cable Customer since 1990's
Mobile:- 5.5" SOLED Note 2 with Quad Core CPU/GPU. 5Ghz wireless N and NOT made by apple. So is actually good Smiley Wink

I don't work for Virgin Media, I pity those that have to....
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 4,836
Registered: ‎24-06-2011

Re: Super Hub 2

[ Edited ]

shaggygareth wrote:

I hope not, Netgear don't suck, they made what Virgin asked for, a Retail version of it is much, much better. But that was too expensive for Virgin, so they hgad to skimp on costs.

 

As always, lowest cost = contract.

which means item = cheap rubbish.


 

Only version 3 supports WPS. So in direct comparason Virgin actually did quite well with their first attempt, thus I say stick with Netgear.


As they tested Cisco and Motorola kit and went with first for the VMNG300 then the Superhub it says a lot about the committee who decide to chose them maybe they do not use broadband, if you want a flagship device then you buy a piece of kit successfully used already by millions not a couple of devices lashed together on the cheap.

 

As for Superhub 2 that boat sailed last year after failing dismally in testing and last I heard they were testing Superhub 3 which has failed to surface so that to appears to be another flop, says a lot about the choices they have made so far if the two replacements are not even up to the job.

_______________________________________________________________

Has this post helped you out? say thanks by clicking on the RED STAR +☆
If I helped to answer your question then please click 'Helpful Answer' also
Brainbox
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎06-02-2011

Re: Super Hub 2

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Up-to-100Mb-broadband/Break-in-period/td-p/1297429 

 

This person had a matte black superhub installed. Maybe they're rolling them out to new customers.

Crafty
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎27-07-2013

superhub 2 - faster wired homeplug speeds?

hi all new here.

 

i have a superhub 1 - with it connected to homeplug, and then homeplug to PC (a recent very decent spec) and i have been upgraded from 60mb (which i used to get 50+ mb with) to the 100mb package. and i still only get 50mb.

 

i know the homeplugs arent ideal, but they are running at 180mbps so should be fine with the 100mbps speeds im trying to get (eg room for movement as its 80mbps under)

 

my question is, will the SH2, give faster speeds? and i know that some ppl modem only there SH's and then use there own, but is this just for wireless? or would my current wired set up work with modem only too?