Menu
Reply
Joining in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎26-11-2011
Message 1 of 12 (2,151 Views)

Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

Hi all,

 

Ok so i have placed the Superhub in Modem mode, connected that to the Draytek in to the WAN port via a patch cable. I am unable to connect to the internet through the Draytek, what settings need to be enabled/disabled to fix this? 

 

Many thanks

 

Marc

0 Kudos

All Replies
Community elder
  • 6.82K
  • 195
  • 514
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 2 of 12 (2,148 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

Have you got the right port on the hub?

Turn hub off for 2 mins then back on if that don't work try a computer connected to the hub and do the same again.
------Die-hard direct connection modem user---Believing is catch 22 the Super hubs 1, 2 & 3 could have been built better the years go by and we can't see the mistakes that were made to make things right. Use modem mode If I could offer you only one tip for the future, modem mode would be it. BQM, Outgoing ports test
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 12.84K
  • 394
  • 1.6K
Registered: ‎20-06-2010
Message 3 of 12 (2,147 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

[ Edited ]

hi

 

1st question has the draytek got an external ip address i.e 80.xxx.xxx.xxx?

 

2nd question is there an internet light and if so it usually green when connected

 

3rd have you power cycled the superhub and waited about 3 mins and then turn on the router?

 

4th if you can try to ping this ip 192.168.100.1 and if you can get to that via a web page?

 

5th have you got the ethernet patch cable in the firt ethernet port next to the coax conection?

 

thanks


The artist formally known as Swt4ajp
4 the love of films >> Forum Guidelines
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎26-11-2011
Message 4 of 12 (2,140 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

The cable is coming out of the modem mode active port on the Superhub and goes in to the WAN port on the Draytek.

 

I will power cycle the superhub and see what happens.

 

Thanks

 

 

0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎26-11-2011
Message 5 of 12 (2,133 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

So the "Act" green light is cycling off and on (not full on). The WAN light is full on. 

 

I am able to connect to the internet through the Superhub with a laptop just not through the Draytek. Can anyone confirm what settings need to be set on the Draytek? Should i use DHCP or Static IP on the Draytek under the WAN section?

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 17.4K
  • 384
  • 3.01K
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 6 of 12 (2,124 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

DHCP.

Everything should be set to automatic! Which model Draytek (if the above advice doesn't get you going)?

As mentioned before, connect the router to the powered off SH, power the router up, power the SH up and the IP address should be obtained.
Seph - (My advice is at your risk)

0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎26-11-2011
Message 7 of 12 (2,124 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

Right, so it has now connected. Was getting 26ms Latency, reduced to 10ms by turning off the NAT on the Draytek. Speed is down though, can get 50MB/s while connected to the Draytek wired, but about 20MB/s when wirelessly connected using Speedtest. Any ideas? 

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 17.4K
  • 384
  • 3.01K
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 8 of 12 (2,117 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

[ Edited ]

Not that you're gonna like what I say, but wireless is a total **bleep**shoot with so many variables.

There's distance, walls, channel contention, interference and a whole load of schmitt to wade through.

Seph - (My advice is at your risk)

0 Kudos
Community elder
  • 6.82K
  • 195
  • 514
Registered: ‎29-01-2011
Message 9 of 12 (2,115 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

Wireless is never any good but if you want better buy better wireless card/USB adaptors.
------Die-hard direct connection modem user---Believing is catch 22 the Super hubs 1, 2 & 3 could have been built better the years go by and we can't see the mistakes that were made to make things right. Use modem mode If I could offer you only one tip for the future, modem mode would be it. BQM, Outgoing ports test
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎26-11-2011
Message 10 of 12 (2,107 Views)

Re: Step By Step on How to Setup Superhub in Modem mode with Draytek 2130vn

Well i've been tinkering with the different channels and modes but haven't found a combination that maxes out the connection. Just wished the superhub wasn't so **bleep** where it currently is.

0 Kudos