Menu
Reply
Joining in
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎13-01-2013
Message 1 of 6 (318 Views)

Modem cable impedance

I am thinking of moving the modem to a different location and would need a longer F cable. Do I need a 50 ohm of 75 ohm cable?

 

Alternativly, what is Virgin likely to charge to move the point to a new location?

0 Kudos

All Replies
Super solver
  • 2.16K
  • 67
  • 243
Registered: ‎08-01-2012
Message 2 of 6 (316 Views)

Re: Modem cable impedance

My advice is always get Virgin to do it which will cost you around £99.

 

however I know you will think it is a rip off and won't want to pay so make sure you get the right cable I would suggest spotting a virgin tech and asking for a small length.

0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎13-01-2013
Message 3 of 6 (295 Views)

Re: Modem cable impedance

Thats a hell of a lot to my mind. I think I'd rather run an extension cable round the room, so 50 ohm or 75 ohm?

0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎13-01-2013
Message 4 of 6 (284 Views)

Re: Modem cable impedance

Anyone?

0 Kudos
Problem sorter
  • 3.01K
  • 90
  • 315
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
Message 5 of 6 (279 Views)

Re: Modem cable impedance

[ Edited ]

75 WF100 is what I would use, but RG6 might work.

If you mess up the connection for everyone in your street then the £99 fee would have been worth it.

 

You can get Attenuation sheets for all cable you buy too, no clue what the stats are on the stuff VM uses.

 

If your using a modem with a router then I would just run Ethernet.

 

----
I do not work for VM, but I would. It is just a Job.

I would also make websites for them, because the job never seems to require the website to work.

Read or Not ....
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎13-01-2013
Message 6 of 6 (271 Views)

Re: Modem cable impedance

Many Thanks

0 Kudos