Menu
Reply
Forum Team (Retired)
  • 2.69K
  • 120
  • 405
Registered: ‎25-03-2010
Message 21 of 37 (262 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Hi Navbloke,

 

We are unable to guarantee a Samsung V+ box I'm sorry, as the technician's may not have any on the day of a visit and we cannot pre-order a specific model. We have availability 8am-12pm, 12-4pm and 4-7pm tomorrow. On Saturday we have 8am-12pm and 12-4pm. Let us know if you'd like us to book you in.

Kind Regards


Ray_P
Help & Support Forum Team


If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords.

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question. Please don't send private messages directly to the forum team unless they ask you to, post your issue to the forum first.
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-01-2011
Message 22 of 37 (252 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Thanks for the quick reply, but I find it astounding that you can't order a Samsung box when I'm paying £60 a month for a box that isn't fit for purpose and have to take pot luck that an engineer has one on the van. If you could book me for Saturday 12-4pm I'll see what happens, but I am seriously thinking of going with sky now after over 10 years with NTL/Virgin. But I do appreciate your help though, rant over.

0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 170
  • 9
  • 21
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Message 23 of 37 (245 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Is there any update on any of this? VM have confirmed there is a problem with the SA boxes and the way they display with some HD TVs...  Given this why can the SA boxes not just be swapped out for the Samsung boxes and make everyone happy.  Easy fix..

0 Kudos
Forum Team (Retired)
  • 3.17K
  • 136
  • 432
Registered: ‎25-03-2010
Message 24 of 37 (238 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Hello sammyh25,

 

Sorry no update, and it's not practical to swap out all the SA boxes for Samsung, especially for a none service affecting issue.

 

Cheers


Robert Ward
Help & Support Forum Team


Got a problem? Check for faults online with our new service status and fault checker

If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords.

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question. Please don't send private messages directly to the forum team unless they ask you to, post your issue to the forum first.
0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 170
  • 9
  • 21
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Message 25 of 37 (225 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Guess it depends on the definition of non-service.  Yes, the actual TV pictures are fine, but does a lack of readable menus constitute a service issue?

 

1. Virgin Media have accepted and publicly acknowledges there is a fault with the SA boxes on certain HD TVs.

2. I know it's not just me that's having this issue, just read this and other forums to confirm that point.

3. I have shown my VM TV setup to people when they have come into the house, without first mentioning the dodgy menus, and without exception everyone has commented on my faulty TV!!!  When I tell them it is a VM issue they find it hard to believe that VM see this as an "acceptable fault".

 

No one is advising that you swap out all the SA boxes, although that would be no bad thing given it's age and dated technology. However, why not address the issue on a case by case basis.  Not everyone with a SA box will have a 1080p TV, and even if they do it may still be set to 720p, which is what the VM engineers did during my set-up (was this a deliberate ploy to hide the menus before they ran out the door?).

 

I am very interested to see how this whole issue is being handled by Virgin Media because I find it very indicative of how the Company operates generally.  Are you really customer centric or is that just all typical Virgin brand advertising at it's best, over promise and under deliver.

 

I await the progression of this issue with interest.

0 Kudos
Forum Team (Retired)
  • 3.17K
  • 136
  • 432
Registered: ‎25-03-2010
Message 26 of 37 (218 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Hi sammyh25,

 

The latest information I have is that it is being discussed as to the action to be taken (or not) regarding this issue, and we hope to have a definitive response next week.

 

Thanks


Robert Ward
Help & Support Forum Team


Got a problem? Check for faults online with our new service status and fault checker

If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords.

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question. Please don't send private messages directly to the forum team unless they ask you to, post your issue to the forum first.
0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 170
  • 9
  • 21
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Message 27 of 37 (212 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Brill, thanks for the update, or not. Smiley Wink

0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎13-10-2010
Message 28 of 37 (204 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Thanks Ray_P,

 

 

I can't make Saturday. I have a pre arranged appointment.

Can you arrange for somebody to visit during next week?  I'm not fussed about what time. I'll be out but can arrange someone to be around at anytime.

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Forum Team (Retired)
  • 2.69K
  • 120
  • 405
Registered: ‎25-03-2010
Message 29 of 37 (188 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Hi JasonColley,

 

I've booked you in for 8am-12pm on Monday, hope this is OK.

Kind Regards


Ray_P
Help & Support Forum Team


If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords.

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question. Please don't send private messages directly to the forum team unless they ask you to, post your issue to the forum first.
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎13-10-2010
Message 30 of 37 (170 Views)

Re: Menu Blur on new SA box

Thanks Ray,  Thats fine.

0 Kudos